Playstation 3 Help! Crackle Sound on DVD/Blu-Ray Playback

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by soundwaveCA, Apr 4, 2009.

  1. soundwaveCA

    soundwaveCA Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Posts:
    13,862
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +2
    So I have a Ps3 I use for DVD/Blu-Ray playback and I'm now noticing a crackle noise during playback. I dont know what's wrong as it's only some DVD's and blu-ray disks do it, games sound find, music off my PC through it sounds fine, even put a couple of CD's in and it also sounds fine. Anything I should check? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    Funny how lately all I hear about is PS3s failing, while the complaints of 360 failures have gone quiet.
     
  3. Sokar

    Sokar Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,339
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +3
    is it through your audio system that the noise is coming from or do you mean the player is making noise? if it's your noise from your speakers then you could have a connection problem or your speakers or reciever may be starting to fail
     
  4. llamatron

    llamatron Shut up, Nigel. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Posts:
    8,970
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +13
    That's strange.
     
  5. AnimatedFan

    AnimatedFan Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,657
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    Oh great. Here we go with this argument again. It's just never going to en....

    Wait, what's this?

    PWND. Spoke too soon. Ah well. :D 

    Anyway onto the topic at hand...

    Are you sure your audio settings in the PS3's menu are set correctly? (I don't own one, but I'm sure there must be tweaks in there, somewhere.)

    If they seem to be alright as is, or unchanged from a state when they did work, you could try a new HDMI cable (I realize your audio works on some things, not on others, but it's worth it to say you tried.)

    Beyond that, I think it might be time to call Sony about repairs. Maybe the drive itself is going bad? Or...the movies might have a hell of a lot of protection on them. (That's a guess, I have no idea how Blu-Ray works.)

    Good luck, hope it works out for you soon!
     
  6. KidDynamite

    KidDynamite don't know nothing Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Posts:
    15,627
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +0
    speaking of broken PS3s, I think mine is. I updated to firmware 2.70 yesterday and now it won't recognize discs of any kind...not BR movies, not games, not even regular DVDs. It doesn't sound like the drive is spinning up at all. Oh, and it's two months out of warranty. Great.
     
  7. soundwaveCA

    soundwaveCA Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Posts:
    13,862
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +2
    I run my 360 through the same audio setup and it works perfectly so it's definitely not that.
     
  8. Red Alert

    Red Alert Security

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    8,558
    News Credits:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +26
    Are you using hdmi or component cables?
     
  9. soundwaveCA

    soundwaveCA Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Posts:
    13,862
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +2
    HDMI for video, optical cable for audio.
     
  10. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    Hey, I never said it was official or anything. It's just what I've been reading lately.

    It wasn't meant to start a console fight, it was just an observation.
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2009
  11. tentagil

    tentagil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    Try disconnecting the optical cable and running the sound through the HDMI jsut to test it. Its possible that you have a cable issue.
     
  12. soundwaveCA

    soundwaveCA Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Posts:
    13,862
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +2
    Tried using the cable from my 360 and no dice :( 
     
  13. tentagil

    tentagil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    Sounding more and more like a problem with the PS3 itself, but with it only showing up for some features and not all seems strange. Have you tried going straight from the PS3 to the TV with nothing inbetween and checking the sound?
     
  14. Trailbreaker77

    Trailbreaker77 Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Posts:
    13,006
    News Credits:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    What movies? Maybe I have the same ones and can test mine. I have a launch system so it is as old as they get. I upgraded the hard drive in January I remember having a sound issue with my old DVD player before I tossed it out. Either way I would call sony they sent me two new replacement controller due to the two I had kept loosing their blu-tooth signal.
     
  15. Hook

    Hook Out of Options Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    11,454
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    Gatineau, Quebec
    Likes:
    +2
    Facebook:
    That's a good idea - run the most basic setup and gradually add cables. Try with the basic RCA cables, then HDMI, then HDMI+optical.
     
  16. Trailbreaker77

    Trailbreaker77 Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2004
    Posts:
    13,006
    News Credits:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    My guess is it could be the DVD disc is warped or the DVD lens is busted. If it only happens with certain DVD's my guess is that's where your problem might be.
     
  17. tentagil

    tentagil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Posts:
    467
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    I'm assuming you've already made sure it is updated. Depending on how old the DVDs are, and if the Blu Ray discs are first gen could even be something as simple as codec issues.
     

Share This Page