Perhaps a n00bish question about the Target DPCI scanners...

Discussion in 'The Toyark' started by BonecrusherCA, Aug 13, 2007.

  1. BonecrusherCA

    BonecrusherCA Plastic Crackhead

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Posts:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Likes:
    +0
    So I've seen them in just about EVERY Target I go to (4/5 I think) but I can't figure out how to use them. They say they can be used to check the stockroom, so I know it's the right scanner, but the only thing on the screen is the prompt to scan the barcode, and pushing the numbers, clear, or enter does nothing.

    HELP!
     
  2. Soundblaster1

    Soundblaster1 The Heisenberg of Toys

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    13,996
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +11
    My Target also disabled them... Probably too many people with DPCIs making them run to the back... (I know I did for Classics Megs)
     
  3. Spekkio

    Spekkio Master of War

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,332
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +3
    Huh - that's odd. I've always been able to punch in the numbers and get "stockroom: no" anytime I wanted to be disappointed.

    Maybe you can ask someone if they did, in fact, disable them.
     
  4. Gears

    Gears buh-buh-body ya Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    24,583
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +12
    Ebay:
    Alot of Targets disabled them so they wouldn't have as many people punching in numbers and asking employees to go to the back room when the scanner showed stock in the back. But you can still just find an employee with a hand scanner and have them punch in the number.
     
  5. Soundblaster1

    Soundblaster1 The Heisenberg of Toys

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Posts:
    13,996
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +11
    The wall scanners were for the anti-social people. I miss them. :cry 

    If you do need something to scan, I think the papers on the pegs/shelves (the little tags with the barcode) work... I don't remember if I got it to work or not...
     
  6. BonecrusherCA

    BonecrusherCA Plastic Crackhead

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Posts:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Likes:
    +0
    I usually only see people with hand-scanners in the morning, and it's not often I can go that early. I'm basically just waiting for the movie Starscream repaint to come out there. I think they'd be annoyed if I asked every day.
     
  7. Jarodimus

    Jarodimus the guy with that scan Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Posts:
    9,443
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    251
    Likes:
    +11
    Actually, I'd say they were for people who didn't want to find/bother an associate unless a desired item was actually in stock. It boggles my mind that they'd disable these -- seems to me it'll result in MORE requests to check the back, rather than fewer.
     
  8. Lennox

    Lennox Wooo.

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    407
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +3
    I've never heard of these. o_O 

    Do you just... ask an employee to give you a scanner?
     
  9. Jarodimus

    Jarodimus the guy with that scan Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Posts:
    9,443
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    251
    Likes:
    +11
    No, it's just the red scanner thingies mounted on posts. Every Target I've seen has a few of them scattered throughout the store. But only some of the stores have the ones with keypads on them.
     
  10. Scantron

    Scantron Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Posts:
    8,249
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +3
    If I'm going in with a DCPI number, I always just check it at the customer service desk; saves time looking for a scanner, entering the code and then having to wrangle an associate from somewhere. I've never had any problems having the desk clerks look something up for me or get it out of the back either.
     
  11. Hoolagrin

    Hoolagrin Wheelie Rules! TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Posts:
    1,054
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    171
    Likes:
    +2
    Ebay:
    ^--Best way.

    Target does not 'disable' scanners. They do crash a lot though, some kind of glitch. The only way to disable them is to unplug them. Most employees will use them too when there aren;t enough hand scannners to go around. The only problem with them is if your Target has a very disorganized backroom, you can get false responses.
     
  12. BonecrusherCA

    BonecrusherCA Plastic Crackhead

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    Posts:
    245
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Likes:
    +0
    Actually, I think I figured it out for the first time today. No G1 repaint Starscream or Jazz yet. :thumbdown 
     

Share This Page