PC Help!!!!

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Takao, Aug 23, 2008.

  1. Takao

    Takao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    300
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +6
    Alright, apparently my PC was turned off improperly, with someone pressing the button rather then shutting it off. This has been done before, but this time something bad happened, when I went to boot my PC today, it gave me a message like "Windows was not able to boot properly..." and gave me a bunch of options like "Start Windows In Safe Mode", "Start Windows Normally", and such, but when I entered each one it would loop me back to that. I believe all I have for this PC is it's Restore CDs, but I don't want to lose all my stuff. Please someone, help!
     
  2. soundwave86

    soundwave86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,048
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +1
    Well instead of choosing an option did you let the time run out so it could reboot itself?
     
  3. Takao

    Takao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    300
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +6
    Yep, and it just goes back to the same screen after showing my Computer manufacter's logo, and Windows XP loading Screen.
     
  4. soundwave86

    soundwave86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,048
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +1
    Did you try turning it off and turning it on again, then trying one of the options? Usually that worked for my pc's
     
  5. Takao

    Takao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    300
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +6
    All I can do is turn the power off with the power button, and remove the power cord, I've done both to no avail. I believe I may need to do a Repair Instal, but I don't have an XP CD since my PC was bought with XP installed from the manufacter.
     
  6. QuinJester

    QuinJester T. Bison

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    8,118
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    197
    Likes:
    +5
    So you're saying that no matter what it chooses, it reboots? Does it actually start loading windows at all? Can you hear a "click" noise when it reboots?
     
  7. Hound_Dawg

    Hound_Dawg Shinki,Braves,TF's Oh my!

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Posts:
    847
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    If you can get a windows CD, you should be able to use recovery console and rebuild the OS. If anything you won't lose your data that way. But it has been about 2 years since I did tech support. So I don't remember all the steps, but Recovery Console this should help there :D 

    Good luck
     
  8. Takao

    Takao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    300
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +6
    Well it goes to the screen right before the user pops up, but instead of going to the users screen, it just goes back to the "Sorry For the Inconveniance, but Windows has encountered a problem starting up..." or something. It's depressing me.
     
  9. soundwave86

    soundwave86 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Posts:
    1,048
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +1
    Do you leave your computer on all the time.
     
  10. Roanstalker

    Roanstalker Great Baan Gaan fan

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    12,360
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +9
    Can't you even use Safe mode?
     
  11. Takao

    Takao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    300
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +6
    Nope, safe mode wont work, just reverts me to the "Sorry For The Inconvience, but Windows has encountered a problem and couldn't start properly" or something like it screen.

    And my computer wasn't on for more then 7 hours when that happened. I hope it wasn't because of that.
     
  12. Draven

    Draven Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    23,860
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +5
    Try the "last known good configuration" (or somesuch wording) option on the screen you keep getting. This is basically a snapshot of how the PC was the last time it successfully booted all the way into Windows. Failing that, boot into the recovery console and try the "fixmbr" & "fixboot" commands.
    If those don't work, you're probably best off reinstalling Windows. If you have enough disk space you can install a new install of Windows onto the same drive as before; this will mean you don't lose any data. However I'd reccommend doing this, backing up everything you want to keep, then reformatting the drive and reinstalling from scratch just to be on the safe side.
    Another good idea to use from now on is to keep Windows on one hard drive partition, and save everything onto another; this will mean that if Windows screws up again you won't lose everything if you have to reformat your drive.
     
  13. Takao

    Takao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Posts:
    300
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +6
    How do I get into Recovery Console, I was under the impression I needed the XP install CD? As the last good configuration date thing doesn't work either.
     
  14. Roanstalker

    Roanstalker Great Baan Gaan fan

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    12,360
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +9
    He cant back up anything if he cant even get it to boot.
     

Share This Page