Painting without base-coating (would this last?)/Alclad and Future questions.

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by iuJacob, Jul 26, 2017.

1. iuJacob

iuJacob Well-Known Member

I am brand new to this. I've been reading through the tutorials here, and looking on YouTube, but some questions remain.

I've started on a flakey old transmetal Rattrap. I completely disassembled him, stripped the paint, and I've basecoated with Alclad gloss black. Next step is Alclad Chrome (I have another question about this down below)....

First question:

In the meantime, there's some other figures I'd just like to spruce up a bit (without the rigorous process that Rattrap became (lots of heating of pins!...)). I came across some videos where this guy just throws the acrylic paint right on. No sanding, no priming or basecoating at all. He doesn't even appear to be clear coating them after.

If I were to do this, I would personally be clear coating them, either with a standard Tamiya Clear Coat or Future.
    But how would they stand up to handling/the test of time?

Second question:

Regarding Alclad, I remember reading at some point that throwing Future on AFTER gloss black, THEN putting the Chrome on top would produce a shinier finish.

However, I've also read NOT to use anything else in this process other than Gloss Black, Chrome, and then Alclad Aqua Gloss on top, as everything else (including Future) ruins the Chrome finish.

Given the conflicting advice, I'm asking here where there's a ton of good pieces I've seen.

Thanks guys. :) 

EDIT: I think I may have posted this in the wrong section?

• Like Like x 1
  2. Agamus

Agamus Not an Iguana

Yeah, this is a Creative General Discussion-type thread. Don't worry about it though, a mod will come by and move it sooner or later.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Effion

Effion It's also a gun