Customs: Paint markers and colored plastic help

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by vm-01, Sep 22, 2011.

1. vm-01

vm-01 Well-Known Member

I have no painting experience and I want to paint some small parts using gundam markers. But I don't know what colors to use.

The plastic is red. I want to paint it purple.

Do I just use a purple marker? Do I use a blue marker? Do I use a white base first?

2. SG hailstorm

SG hailstorm JaAm aficionado

what type of markers for the gundams? paint markers or like sharpies?

3. vm-01

vm-01 Well-Known Member

paint

4. SG hailstorm

well, i'd start with a white base coat

5. vm-01

vm-01 Well-Known Member

Ok . Thanks!

I'll get some white and purple then.

6. SG hailstorm

no prob ^_^ need any other tips or ways to go about stuff PM me i'd be glad to help out :thumb 

7. vm-01

vm-01 Well-Known Member

You've been very helpful. I'll take you up on that offer if needed.

8. Satomiblood

Satomiblood Prototype Black

Not sure how well this will turn out. Do people normally use paint markers for full-on repaints, or just detailing? I'd think the latter.

9. vm-01

vm-01 Well-Known Member

I've been looking for info on the past 2 days. And found very little.

Spray painting is out of the question for me. I'd like to start with paint markers because I wouldn't have to mess with thinner and mixing and cleaning brushes. Then move on to brushes when I want to try getting better quality.

I think I should be fine if I manage to track down markers with bigger points in the right colors. Otherwise I would stick to detailing. I'll also try using some clear coating.

I have some KO's and accesories to experiment on. If I fail I'll just get some brushes and acrylic paint.

10. Satomiblood

Satomiblood Prototype Black

I'd personally resort to spray or brush, but you can try the paint marker method on a KO. I'd like it if you posted a thread so I could see the results.

11. vm-01

vm-01 Well-Known Member