Customs: Paint choices for TF customs vs. Other types of toy

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by blaynescott, Aug 21, 2011.

1. blaynescott

blaynescott Well-Known Member

Ebay:
    Hi everyone,

I've been customizing since 2007, and I've become comfortable using specific types of hobby paints:

Tamiya Acrylics
    Vallejo Acrylics (Game Color)
    Citadel Washes/Inks

Using these acrylics + a varnish/sealant is pretty standard (as I discovered after I was customizing for about 2 years) among many customizers at Figurerelam.com, and other places.

However, the more I read WiP writeups by Transformer-customizers, the more I see Matte Enamel paints (Tamiya and Model Masters seem to be the most used).

What's best? I'm about to start painting up some customs (After preping their joints/sanding/etc) using some automotive spray laquers + acyrylics, and I'm worried the paint wont' adhere as well. Is that why most people use enamels?

I did one TF custom a few years back using citadel acrylic paints and washes + a matte sealant, and it worked fine - but since it was a Vector Prime, and really had no paint-rub areas to speak of even before prepping - I never had any issues with it.

[​IMG]

Fast forward 5 years to newer, and more complicated Transformers (DOTM Megatron, for example, with lots of interlocking parts), and I'm curious:

Do I need to re-buy my paints in Enamels, or are my Vallejo/Tamiya acrylics OK for TF customs too?

Thanks in advance for everyone's input. :) 

2. stratonrye

stratonrye Maximal