Others' reactions to your collections

Discussion in 'Transformers General Discussion' started by Schrecken, Sep 25, 2007.

1. Schrecken

Schrecken Active Member

Just wondering what sorts of reactions everyone gets from others (i.e. friends, relatives, etc) when they know/find out about your interest in Transformers, including collecting them and related memorabilia.

I am new to collecting and since the 2007 movie has been out I've acquired quite a bit of stuff + a couple of the figures themselves (and more to come). Anyway, I had just gotten a couple of Robot Replicas, and I had them displayed on a table in my bedroom. In addition, I have a few posters, trading cards and other stuff displayed in my home office.

So one night I'm in my room watching tv and my mom comes in to ask me about something. Well, she looks down at my night table and this is the reaction I got:

mom: "What's THAT thing?!?!" (as she sees Megatron leaning up against a potted plant on the table)

me: "Ah, nothing....."

mom: "That's a Transformer, isn't it?!!!"

me: "Uh, not really, it's...."

mom: "It IS a Transformer.....I just don't believe it (meaning she can't believe I actually acquired it at all)!"

me: "Well it sort of is, it's a Robot Replica.....you know, a scale model of the ones in the movie."

mom: "I can't believe it - you're a 37 year old woman and you're playing with Transformers!!!!" (she rolls her eyes)

me: "Uh, it's just a model of the ones in the movie, you know."

mom: Yeah, I know....I've seen all the other stuff you have, the cards, posters, yeah, I know."

And with that, she just shook her head and left.

Anyone else ever get such interesting reactions to your collection or just being a TF fan?

2. Bobby Lemain

Bobby Lemain Cassette Man

Well, im still in high school, and when I visited my cousin's in Canada, my uncle asked me if I wanted anything, so I asked if we could go to toys'r us. He asked:
    "oh, what video game are you getting?"