Customs: Operation: Overlord

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Starscream NZ, Mar 26, 2012.

1. Starscream NZ

Starscream NZ Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    Doing a massive clean out of my collection which is in storage, i came across the remnants of my Unicron Trilogy collection, and unearthed Cybertron Megatron. I've seen a number of repaints of this figure into Overlord, and being a big LSOTW fan, I'd like to add this Overlord to my collection.

Now, i'm not new to doing customs, however i'm new to doing good customs. I'd really like to make a real honest go of this figure. However i've heard various customizers give me different advice so i'm looking trying to collaborate the best ideas from some of the best customizers to do this one right.

So here's some of the main questions I have.

What are the best types of paints to use? Currently I have a collection of Tamiya? paints (forgot the actual name, come in very small bottles (like this)

[​IMG]

Secondly, and this is the issue that i've come across the worst. What is the best way to apply the paint? One suggestion I was given was to spray-paint the parts white, so you can start afresh. However I found this made the figures a lot more brittle and indeed my custom Breakdown ended up having his arm break, I believe due to this. Another paint-related question I have is whether it's best to disassemble the figure as much as possible to paint all parts of the toy, and if so, how long approximately do pieces need to dry? (if this was being done indoors not near a heater).

Sandpapering is another question I have, i've heard that this is an essential thing to do, however i've never done it as i've been concerned that this would reduce smoothness of the figures, as well as the details molded in.

I'd appreciate input from anyone who could be of assistance - I really want to make a good go of this so the less mistakes I can make, the better.

2. jame5y