old G1's - 2 questions

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by Schiedam79, Dec 11, 2007.

1. Schiedam79

Schiedam79 Member

Ebay:
    Hi there,

I know it's not an excuse, but I have been searching around and haven't found anything on this subject. But please correct me if I am wrong.

Anyway, I had 2 questions I wanted to ask. They're about my few original G1's.

Does anybody know what to best with al the chrome wear. Just keep it there or is there a way to 're-chrome' them? S
    omeone told me this isn't possible with just paint, so I want to know for sure.

The other thing is about www.reprolables.com. Is using these for replacement a 'do' or a 'don't' in your opinions?

That's about it for me and my questions.

See you around!

Björn
    The Netherlands

2. ranoobu

ranoobu I like fried chicken

News Credits:
    I don't really understand your first question.. but then again i'm not an expert on chrome either..

People here use reprolabels all the time.. not sure if it devalues the figure.. but i know people use it for knock offs and whatnot

3. MegaPrime33

MegaPrime33 Follow me @NerdActivist TFW2005 Supporter

I'm not too familiar with chrome loss and/or preventative maintence for it, but as far as reprolabels go, they're great. But make sure you clean your toy first before using them.

Heh, that sounded kind of dirty.

4. Schiedam79

Schiedam79 Member

Ebay:
    Well, for example, a friend of mine tried to restore his G1 Groove with silver paint, which is used for painting model kits. Now it really looks... different! ;-)

Then I started to look for chrome paint, but couldn't find any.
    My uncle (who is painting en building model cars all the time) told me that chrome can't be put on as paint, so that was the reason I couldn't find any.

So I just wanted to check that on this board.

Thanks for the answer on using reprolables!

5. adam-x

adam-x megazord activate,,

cant you use the chrome foil that you can find at hobby lobby.