NOOO.....Zune Lock Ups

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by alphie, Dec 31, 2008.

  1. alphie

    alphie Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,549
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +10
    Yep, so I tried to start my Zune up and for the first time that I owned it it locks. :cry  So, I start doing research to see if there is a way to unlock it. And what do I find:

    Zune 30 Gig Deaths on 12/31/08 | Zune | Tech-Recipes


    For all of those who are Ipod users, HUSH! :( 
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2008
  2. Vangelus

    Vangelus Long Live the New Flesh Moderator Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    14,915
    News Credits:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Likes:
    +29
    Ebay:
    Holy crap, I hope Microsoft either comes up with a soft fix or reimburses all those afflicted. :O What a freaky bug.
     
  3. Runamuck

    Runamuck Swindle Knows Best

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Posts:
    7,331
    News Credits:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +16
    yup....:( 

    Before I read this article, I was thinking that it may have something to do with rolling over to a new year, seeing as how all these Zunes were affected at teh same time.
     
  4. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    It seems that every 30 GB Zune is f-ed. Microsoft must absolutely love class action lawsuits.
     
  5. Atomsplitter

    Atomsplitter Needs a new title.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    3,915
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    Yeah, i'm deathly afraid to turn mine on now.
     
  6. encline

    encline customizer of love TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Posts:
    5,620
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    261
    Likes:
    +11
    Man.... I am glad I have an Ip........I mean, another type of device that plays music.
     
  7. Vangelus

    Vangelus Long Live the New Flesh Moderator Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    14,915
    News Credits:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Likes:
    +29
    Ebay:
  8. alphie

    alphie Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2002
    Posts:
    5,549
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +10
    Thanks, Vangelus! :D 

    Yeah, it's definitely a weird bug, that's for sure.
     
  9. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    Wow!
     
  10. Runamuck

    Runamuck Swindle Knows Best

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Posts:
    7,331
    News Credits:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +16
    I already let the battery run out....in fact, it should have been charged this whole time, but when I left it off the charger/computer today, and came home, it said the battery was dead. I plugged it back in and the same Zune logo with status bar at the bottom problem.

    Only thing different you said was do it tomorrow. Is that the key?
     
  11. Vangelus

    Vangelus Long Live the New Flesh Moderator Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    14,915
    News Credits:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Likes:
    +29
    Ebay:
    Yep. Apparently all the 30gb zunes need to be left alone until it's actually January 1st.
     
  12. Shin-Gouki

    Shin-Gouki Rebuilding Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,937
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Location:
    Originally: Huntington Beach, CA, Now: Cincinnati
    Likes:
    +40
    F'n Weird. I had a Zune for a while and I loved it. However the lack of Car Stereo Support for the Zune made me switch to the I word.
     
  13. Katamari Prime

    Katamari Prime Hassan Chop! TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Posts:
    7,221
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +4
    Hmm, so being cheap and going with sansa worked for the better. Interesting.
     
  14. Metal Soldier

    Metal Soldier The Robot

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Posts:
    5,182
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Kinda dumb mistake on the part of the coders but its fixed now so I'm cool with it.
     
  15. AutobotPunk 2.0

    AutobotPunk 2.0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Posts:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Likes:
    +0
    ive had my zune 30g for a while now and its working fine, so not all are f'd
     
  16. Vangelus

    Vangelus Long Live the New Flesh Moderator Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    14,915
    News Credits:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Likes:
    +29
    Ebay:
  17. cheetorBWORG

    cheetorBWORG Cheetor Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Posts:
    4,560
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +1
    Hold on, I thought the problem was software based? If it's true for the Toshiba one, then what the heck is goin' on?

    Oh, and... iPod forever!!!
     
  18. QmTablit

    QmTablit Disguise: Check. Robot...

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2008
    Posts:
    9,428
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +2
    Leap Seconds cause doom!


    I work at Microsoft, as a Librarian, and we were talking about this early yesterday. Pretty funny. Everyone's Zune should be fine, though, unless yours happened to overheat. Then that sucks.

    Now if only anyone can figure out why mine and nearly everyone I know's cellphone would not work last night...
     

Share This Page