Newbie Here!!

Discussion in 'Transformers General Discussion' started by JamboJapp, Jun 19, 2011.

1. JamboJapp

JamboJapp Member

First post on here and I've got a bit of a daft question needing answered.....growing up I loved the G1 series and a few yrs ago at christmas I got the boxset as a present :D  I've watched it a few times and still love it aswell as the new films but I've never seen any other series and wonder where to start and which ones to avoid??

2. Mospeada

Mospeada Since '84

News Credits:
    Great question. Depends on where you want to go from G1. In Japan, the series continued as 3 more series:

Headmasters
    Masterforce
    Victory

These three series' are going to be released as a box set in July on Shout! Factory's website, and the Headmasters set will be available separately in stores.

If you want to check out probably the most highly regarded series, story wise, that would be Beast Wars. Beast Wars season 1 just got re-released last week and can be found for 19.99 at Target and other places. Don't let the CG and lack of vehicles put you off, it's fantastic.

Beyond that, there are lots of different series' from 2000 onward you can check out. Personal favorites of mine are Robots in Disguise (2001), which is not on DVD in Region 1 but can be gotten from the UK or watched on Youtube, and "Animated" from 2007, which is full of G1 love and nods to old characters.

Transformers: Prime is running right now on The Hub, and is worth checking out.

The Unicron trilogy of Armada, Energon and Cybertron from 2002-05 is probably only recommended for completists. The same goes for Beast Machines.

Hope this list helped!

3. JamboJapp

JamboJapp Member

Cheers! Beast wars looks strange but reading about it on here sounds well liked. Fancy having a look at the completion of G1 first. Is there any sort of storyline through all the different series or does each just start from where it wants?

4. Mospeada

Mospeada Since '84

News Credits: