new to Xbox Live. got some questions

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Orion_Prime48, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. Orion_Prime48

    Orion_Prime48 Super Sentai Purist

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Posts:
    8,355
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +3
    alright as some now I just got Xbox Live but I have a few questions that I cant really find clear answers for.

    1. my profile is now for Xbox Live use. if I lose Live or my net connection is there a way to use it without logging in to Live? I sure as hell dont wanna lose my main profile when I put alot of work into getting over 15,000 gamerpoints on it

    2. on Halo 3 is it possible to create a custom game but have other online players join it other than friends? or people that have been invited

    those are all I can think of atm but im sure I have a few more
     
  2. DaggersRage

    DaggersRage Autistic bastard.

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    3,606
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    So ya finally fell into the fold huh? :D 

    To answer your questions though.

    1.) You can still use your profile even if you loose your net connection, ya just wont be able to play online with people.

    2.) Not 100% sure on the Halo games, but I think those custom games are friend invites only.
     
  3. Dirge121

    Dirge121 Eat the chikums

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Posts:
    9,569
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +25
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    YouTube:
    Tumblr:
    Custom Games I believe are open only to friends or recent players.
    A while ago there was a group active on Bungie.net setting up Custom Games for people to join, not sure if they are still around, but you might want to check.
     
  4. Orion_Prime48

    Orion_Prime48 Super Sentai Purist

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Posts:
    8,355
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +3
    heh yea I finally got it. just started 2 days ago and im up to level 9 on Team slayer for Halo 3 lol. if only I had points so I can buy the other dlc map packs or atleast ODST for its secondary disc
     
  5. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    Yes you can use your profile if you don't have a net connection.
    Any achievements you gain while offline will be added next time you go online.
     
  6. Orion_Prime48

    Orion_Prime48 Super Sentai Purist

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Posts:
    8,355
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +3
    I dont want to create a new thread for this so ill use this one instead.

    im trying to share my media with my 360 with Windows Media Player. when I go to Media Sharing it doesnt show my 360 at all. im not running a firewall and its hooked to a router which in turn is hooked to the modem for the pc itself. so im baffled, anyone have any experience with this and can possibly tell me what I need to do to get it working
     
  7. DaggersRage

    DaggersRage Autistic bastard.

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    3,606
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    I dont know how to solve your current problem, buy my friend uses that sort of system all the time. When I get the chance I'll have him show me how it works and post my findings. I do think that you actually need to use Windows Media Center, not Windows Media Player though. Dont quote me on that, Im not 100% sure on it.
     
  8. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    Which operating system are you using and which version of WMP do you have.

    You do not need to use the Media Centre to stream music and video to the 360, WMP does it fine.
     
  9. Orion_Prime48

    Orion_Prime48 Super Sentai Purist

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Posts:
    8,355
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +3
    Windows XP Office Edition and im pretty sure its WMP11

    edit: yep WMP11
     
  10. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
  11. Orion_Prime48

    Orion_Prime48 Super Sentai Purist

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Posts:
    8,355
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +3
    okay I did all that but my 360 still isnt showing up on the list at all. and for soem reason my xbox wont even recognize my pc as being on the same network even though theyre hooked to the same lines

    and Boardwise I added you on XBL
     

Share This Page