New to Shapeways, need opinions

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by DecepticusPrime, Jun 6, 2012.

1. DecepticusPrime

DecepticusPrime "Essential" Personnel

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    I'm new to the Shapeways customs and haven't ordered anything yet. However I am looking into a few things but want some experienced opinions. Looking to get the Prime wheeljack blasters, but I am wondering which material to order for the best look, and really what difference there is to them. Also what are a couple other things from there t&t have been great? I appreciate the feedback and apologize if this shouldn't be here as its essentially custom items.

2. Kaiwera05

Kaiwera05 Soundwave Enthusiast

Ebay:
    The basic stuff (Strong White Flexible I think?) is pretty good, but it has a grainy texture, so it's not the best for display. I haven't bought anything else, but the higher prices are on it, the less grainy it is and the better it looks IMO. I think some of them are kinda brittle though, I think the Frosted one is brittle from what I've heard.

3. Rexidus

Rexidus Autobot

News Credits:
    I highly recommend Fakebuskers blasters here:
    http://www.tfw2005.com/boards/radicons-customs/573895-tf-prime-wheeljack-blasters.html

I've got two sets of them:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Now for the material it's a trade off between strength and detail/smoothness. Mine are in Black Strong Flexible and as you can see are a little grainy. That material though is rather strong and will hold up to use. Frosted Ultra Detail is more brittle and for weapons it's not a bad choice. Since weapons don't have any moving parts its brittleness shouldn't be an issue. But FUD is the most detailed and smoothest texture. They are clear so they require painting but once painted you won't get a smoother surface on Shapeways currently.

All the color Strong Flexible are basically the same. I haven't tried Aluminide yet however.

Hope that helped.

4. javaco

javaco javaco

News Credits: