New computer

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by atlianz, Apr 6, 2008.

  1. atlianz

    atlianz TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    4,666
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +0
    Well my PC finally said bubye last week so I decided to switch over to the Mac side. This thing is freakin awesome, 24 inches of awesome!! Of course I can still run windows through VMware fusion is need be.
    The specs are:
    2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
    4GB memory
    320GB hard drive1
    8x double-layer SuperDrive
    ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO with 256MB memory

    [​IMG]
     
  2. OmegaScourge

    OmegaScourge Custom Made TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    6,504
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    looks nice...having a bigger and LCD monitor makes it all look way better.
     
  3. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    So pretty!
     
  4. Lance Halberd

    Lance Halberd oh hai

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Posts:
    5,780
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +3
    That is one super sexy sexy machine.
     
  5. BMGFX

    BMGFX Awesome Spooner Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Posts:
    3,467
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    How much did it cost? I almost switched to mac but the cost was too much.
     
  6. Seth Buzzard

    Seth Buzzard R.I.P. Buzzbeak Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    15,168
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +4
    Sweet, the way things are going when I need a new computer I'll be making the switch too.

    I still have reservations about the iMac's all in one design. I had a desk top back in the day and hated how hard it was to swap out parts and what not. Every computer I have had after was a town and it was a little bigger then the last. But to get a Mac in a tower you need to go with the Pro yes? And that even more expense. So if I do go Mac it's going to be a big leap of faith to get something so compact.
     
  7. OmegaScourge

    OmegaScourge Custom Made TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    6,504
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    yeah me too...i really wanted to swap over to a Mac but the cost came into play....same thing with a iMac.

    but upgrading (HDD, memory, and cards) on the Pro looks easier than a PC...saw it on the Apple website.
     
  8. Seth Buzzard

    Seth Buzzard R.I.P. Buzzbeak Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    15,168
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +4
    How much can you upgrade iMac, how much of it's components are intergraded? I get the impression you can upgrade at lest the RAM. Listening to Leo Laporte he suggested when buying an iMac to get as little RAM as possible because you can buy more separately for a lot less.
     
  9. BMGFX

    BMGFX Awesome Spooner Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Posts:
    3,467
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Yeah I read that about the ram too. I ended up with my PC (quad core 2.4g, 4 gigs of ram, 8600 gts 256mb, 320gb HD) and a 24" monitor for less than a mac monitor on it's own.
     
  10. KA

    KA PENIS GOES WHERE?!!

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Posts:
    23,223
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +17
    i bet porn looks great on that screen.
     
  11. smangerbot

    smangerbot The Holy Zombie Jesus TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    10,016
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +0
    macs rule. i wanted one of those new imacs, but the shiny screens aren't good for design work. hopefully they'll bring out non shiny versions soon.
     
  12. atlianz

    atlianz TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    4,666
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +0
    I was only able to upgrade the ram. I went from 1 gb to 4 gb.
    I haven't noticed any issues with the glossy screen either.
     
  13. smangerbot

    smangerbot The Holy Zombie Jesus TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Posts:
    10,016
    Trophy Points:
    266
    Likes:
    +0
    they're not bad screens - i think the glossy is better for watching video and things like that, but for design work the blacks don't come out as accurate. also as i can see in your pic they are very reflective :) 

    they are freaking nice though, i really want one!
     

Share This Page