Need some immediate help concerning playing PS2 on HDTV!

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by jet convoy, Jun 20, 2008.

  1. jet convoy

    jet convoy Beast Wars Forever!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Posts:
    767
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    Hey guys I have a very important question and I'm still very confused since I can't seem to get a straight answer.

    Long story short my brother's birthday is this Sunday and since we both want a PS3 me and I my dad went out to buy a 40 gig three days ago which we did. Yesterday, when I came back from work my dad had bought a 26 inch LCD and I was like awesome! However, I just tried to play Devil May Cry 3 on it and the game looks like shit on the LCD. And I tried playing God of War 2 (which is one of the best looking PS2 games ever hands down) but it appears that the TV doesn't support progressive scan.

    I had bought a 40 gig because I figured, heck, I already have a PS2 so I don't really need the 80 gig PS3 to play PS 1 and 2 games. But now I don't know what to do. Either I move my PS2 to my parent's room since they have an old albeit big CRT screen. Or before my bro's birthday hits two days from now, return the 40 gig PS3 and buy the 80 gig.

    Which one do you guys recommend, or is there some way to upconvert the image with some cable or something? Some help would be very much appreciated, thank you.
     
  2. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,237
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +31
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    What type of connection are you using?
     
  3. jet convoy

    jet convoy Beast Wars Forever!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Posts:
    767
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    Pretty mcuh the component cables that came with the PS2.
     
  4. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,237
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +31
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    Are you sure it's component and not composite?

    Component or HDMI is the connection of choice.
     
  5. jet convoy

    jet convoy Beast Wars Forever!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Posts:
    767
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    Oh, right, composite. I always get them mixed up. I didn't know you could connect HDMI cables to a PS2. Is there a particlar kind. I'm pretty behind in all this new HD tech.
     
  6. GogDog

    GogDog Logic's wayward son Veteran

    Joined:
    May 7, 2006
    Posts:
    12,203
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    246
    Likes:
    +6
    I'm pretty sure that PS2 does not support HDMI, just component.
     
  7. jet convoy

    jet convoy Beast Wars Forever!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Posts:
    767
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    So what would these component cables do. Upscale the image?
     
  8. NSJ23

    NSJ23 Binalternator Lover

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2003
    Posts:
    2,362
    Trophy Points:
    207
    Likes:
    +28
    It would let you view games like GOWII in progressive scan making the picture better. i had my PS2 and HDTV set up that way before i got a PS3
     
  9. jet convoy

    jet convoy Beast Wars Forever!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Posts:
    767
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    Thanks for all the helpguys. So how much do those component cables cost and which would be the best choice? And is the component cable only gonna help with games that support progressive scan or every single game?
     

Share This Page