Need job advice

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Johnator, Dec 9, 2008.

1. Johnator

Johnator 'Til All Are Gone!

Long story short I was a teacher for 6 years and then recently became an accountant (I have two degrees education and accounting). I have discovered I HATE being an accountant and really need to try something else. I have given accounting a fair shot (half a year) but I honestly cannot stand it and I know my boss can tell. I can't go back to teaching because of the timing of the year right now. What other types of jobs besides being an accountant or auditor could I become? I feel weird asking about it on here but since I spend what little free time I have on here any advice is GREATLY appreciated.

2. soundwave86

soundwave86 Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    I guess it depends on what kind of interests you have and what skills besides numbers you have.

3. Soundblaster1

Soundblaster1 The Heisenberg of Toys

News Credits:
    You could always do the substitute teacher thing until a spot opens up. I'm not quite sure how that works where you are, but it's worth a shot.

4. Gort

Gort Klaatu barada nikto TFW2005 Supporter

Office manager for just about any business that sound interesting to you. Despite the negative stereotype of working in a office, it is actually quite fun. The jobs are not physically demanding and there is often plenty of time to talk to coworkers. Having a degree of any kind will put you on a fast track for manager of just about any store. The bottom line is that very rarely people find a job that they just LOVE. It is called work after all and not leisure or play.

5. BrokenSVT

BrokenSVT It's not broken anymore.

Accounting degree, check.

Teaching degree, check.

Accounting teacher? :D 

6. seeker311

seeker311 The Collector

News Credits:
    social worker!

7. 0ptimus__Prime

0ptimus__Prime Autobot Commander

News Credits:
    work for Hasbro and get us some pictures of ROTF figures? *hint hint*