Need help with my first restoration - G1 Dinobots

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by DeathStorm, Aug 5, 2008.

1. DeathStorm

DeathStorm Snoochie Boochies

News Credits:
    I hope this is an alright thread for this area - the Radicons area just didn't seem right. If it's in the wrong place, feel free to move it.

I just got all five G1 Dinobots and, unfortunately, they weren't in the condition that the pics and description stated. Nonetheless, they aren't completely unsalvagable and I'd like to restore them. The problem is, I've never done a restoration before.

I've already planned on removing all the stickers and cleaning the figures with some rubbing alcohol, a soft toothbrush, and some q-tips. I have some plastic dental tools that will help get the sticker gunk off and I'm placing an order on Reprolabels.

I'm particularly curious about chrome. For their age, the toys are in pretty decent shape chrome-wise. I'd say each toy has about 10-15% wear. These are only going to be for display and I keep them in robot mode, so any chrome fixes don't need to be 100% permanent (although that would be nice). I've thought of using silver paint (if it exists) or perhaps silver leaf - I'm sure I could find both at a hobby store.

Any suggestions, even those not related to chrome, about restoring would be appreciated. If you know of a good product a link to it would also help.

Thanks for any help.

2. blahduh

blahduh Well-Known Member

Seriously man, with that price you paid, you could at least get all 5 complete and near mint.(A overall C8.0 can mean alot of things)
    As for chrome repair, i doubt there're anything you can use to make them look like the orignal(yes, there're silver paints, but they look different)