My theory on why Protoforms were needed

Discussion in 'Transformers Movie Discussion' started by Buster_Witwicky, Aug 30, 2011.

  1. Buster_Witwicky

    Buster_Witwicky ALL HAIL KORROK

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2010
    Posts:
    550
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +0
    I probably looked over something and will sound like an idiot, but I just read that in space, if two pieces of uncoated metal touch they are fused together.

    Protoforms could be some sort of organic layer of armor that's weaker than raw metal. It is durable enough to get through space, but rather ineffective in battle. Cybertronians themselves are probably not metal, but their armor is.

    In 2007, Megatron had some sort of custom armor that was strong and able to go in space. Maybe he had a special coating to keep it safe.

    So what do you think, plausible? Are there any huge flaws I am overlooking?
     
  2. Overlord Balder

    Overlord Balder Voices Slugslinger!

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    6,306
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +5
    Not anyhthing wrong, I but preferred my theory that Protoforms were the weaker forms only used by those who lack an alt-mode [, as in Cybertron alt-modes were probably much harder to acquire because you couldn't just scan one and drive with it, you had you be built with it or to be updated with one] or to travel in space.

    You see why I think that:

    Weak forms used only by those who lack alt-mode - You can see that random Autobot and Decepticon Nameless Soldiers are only Protoforms, I have the theory that this was done because: A - It harder to acquire an alt-mode back on Cybertron [you had to be built with it or be updated with it] and B - It made the mass-production of them faster.

    To travel through space - Optimus and crew in the first movie.

    And lastly, Protoforms =/= Cybertronian forms, different matters entirely in my opinion [Protoform is a weaker one used by travel or by "lesser" dudes], Cybertronian form is just was strong as the normal TF form, the difference being that they have an alt-mode [Megatron being an example on the first two movies].
     
  3. AllSpark Shard

    AllSpark Shard Squirrel-flattener

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2009
    Posts:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    Protoforms are the natural state of a Cybertronian, before they acquire an alt mode.

    Of course they must be weaker forms than that of a Cybertronian that has already chosen an alt mode.
     
  4. baggzey23

    baggzey23 psn - baggzey23

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,988
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    187
    Likes:
    +53
    my opinion
    protoforms - soft metal and naked transformers
    they scan an alt mode and the metal sets hard and acquire it as armour aswell as skin
     
  5. Auto Morph

    Auto Morph Gimmick Bot

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Posts:
    8,444
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +4
    You mean like a Cybertronian Dr Zoidberg? :p 
     
  6. Shizuka

    Shizuka Optimus Prime's scriptor

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Posts:
    5,136
    News Credits:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +396
    I just thought they were covered in metal and after scanning that metal merely changes form to resemble the shapes from their alt mode.

    After scanning though their interiors seem to change because Protoforms don't have wires and stuff do they?
     
  7. baggzey23

    baggzey23 psn - baggzey23

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,988
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    187
    Likes:
    +53
    ^THIS
     
  8. seekerblackout

    seekerblackout Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2011
    Posts:
    10,798
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +3
    I think that most TFs are built with cybertronian modes,when they travel through space w/o a ship they use a Protoform,then they scan earth modes. Sentinel must not have used a Protoform,so he was really in his cybertronian bot mode on the moon
     
  9. knoted

    knoted Resistor Transistor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Posts:
    5,154
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +1,147
    Protoforms were needed to cut movie budget costs :

    - they all use pretty much the same texture map
    - no transformation rigging required
    - instance copy instance copy
    - they are easier to get away with inaccuracies

    So, mostly practical reasons. Plain n simple.
     
  10. roaddemon2001

    roaddemon2001 Mr. fixit

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Posts:
    602
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Likes:
    +45
    looks about right to me
     
  11. SGTsoundwave

    SGTsoundwave Steam Powered Automaton

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Posts:
    1,073
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    true, but i wouldn't really go into the cost of the productions on a board about the story
     
  12. knoted

    knoted Resistor Transistor

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Posts:
    5,154
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +1,147
    No ? So far, the CGi has proven to be expensive enough to keep actual Transformers screentime, to a limit....which directly affects story or at least the screenplay.
     
  13. Aernaroth

    Aernaroth <b><font color=blue>I voted for Super_Megatron and Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Posts:
    24,226
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    367
    Likes:
    +1,104
    I dunno man, if protoforms are strong enough to get through the radiation, micrometeorites, and reentry damage of space travel, they should shrug off most minor battle damage.

    Maybe its more a case of "protoforms are used because reformatting takes resources or effort or knowledge that is unavailable to most cybertronians, so only those who've prepared for their environment beforehand like the autobots are able to do it quickly and easily. Most cybertronians would rather stay in their protoform than risk taking an alt mode in ignorance or haste that puts them at a disadvantage."
     
  14. DecepticonSpike

    DecepticonSpike Member of the Scrappy Doo Fan Club

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Posts:
    8,969
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Location:
    Dayton, Ohio
    Likes:
    +1,351
    Twitter:
    Instagram:
    Here's a question: in the movieverse, if a TF leaves a planet to go to another, do they have to revert to protoform before scanning a new altmode?
     
  15. Aernaroth

    Aernaroth <b><font color=blue>I voted for Super_Megatron and Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    Posts:
    24,226
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    367
    Likes:
    +1,104
    If that altmode is incapable of space travel, yes they do. Megatron kept his Cybertronian mode during the trip to earth, and Bumblebee and Megatron showed they can change more than once after they get to earth.

    If you're asking if they get onto a ship and go to a different planet, do they have to change, I doubt it, unless the mode they have won't help them hide, and they need to.
     
  16. daitarn red

    daitarn red bionic hero

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Posts:
    4,444
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +2
    some protoforms be autobots combie members
     

Share This Page