my graduate advisor quit school, leaving me alone

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by mentat_emre, Jul 9, 2008.

1. mentat_emre

mentat_emre Well-Known Member

Hi people;
    I don't write much in the forums but i always read the threads time to time.
    I'm an astronautics engineer and studying in graduate degree on Advanced Technologies Aeronautics and Astronautics program in Istanbul Technical University. My thesis will be similar as my undergraduate thesis. Migration of the bubbles. I finished my first year and when i called my adviser to talk about starting my thesis, he said he quit the school and started to work in an airlines company. Worst of all, there are no teacher who works about my subject in my university. Probably, I have to start over on a new subject. I haven't done much things about my thesis except running 5 simulations (which lasts over 30 days for each simulation), but i was familiar to the subject and im not familiar about other subject. Adaptation on a new subject will be difficult i guess. Anyway thanks for reading.

2. wolfe

wolfe Well-Known Member

Ebay:
    sorry to hear it mate.

3. llamatron

llamatron OFFICIAL MMC REP TFW2005 Supporter

News Credits:
    Instagram:
    That sucks yo'. At my uni I think that supervisors are contractually bound to find a suitable replacement if they want to take off and leave a student hanging.

4. mentat_emre

maybe he will find a replecament, but AFAIK there are other person who works on that project.

5. Ops_was_a_truck

Ops_was_a_truck JOOOLIE ANDREWWWWWS!!!!!!

Ebay:
    Well, you could always see if another university nearby might focus on the same subject.

6. Bryan

Bryan ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

1) I love the use of the word "mentat," from a classic English-language SF novel, in a Turkish poster's UN. Globalization is very cool.

2) That sucks. That really sucks. I think Ops has a good idea, though. If you can't find another advisor, you should consider another school.

7. seeker311