Minor/Repaint: My First Repaint (WIP) (help appreciate... :))

Discussion in 'Radicons Customs' started by jon5000, Oct 20, 2009.

1. jon5000

jon5000 Tea-Drinker

Hey guysl,

After a few customs in the land of Star Wars, I've decided to return to the Transformers Universe - by attempting a repaint!

Inspired by the many, many fantastic repaints I've seen on this site, I've decided to join the bandwagon. This is a first for me, I won't deny I'm a total noob in the realm of repaints! I'm reasonably adept with an airbrush, so that's what I'll be using.

So I've bought myself a Universe Powerglide with the intention of repainting him to more accurate military colours as an A-10, (as seen in the photo) of course with some weathering/panel lines rendering for good measure.

So, time for the noob to ask questions -

1). Very stupid, but what are the best paints to use? The obvious thing that springs to mind - which I've never really had to worry about on a model before - is durability. Namely, how do you stop the paint rubbing off in transformation?

2). Do you literally take everything apart? And, if so, how do you make sure you put it back together properly!? Take photos? lol

3). Decals. Is there a special paper you can buy to enable oneself to make his own?

That's all, thanks!

Apologies for the noobness.:p 

Attached Files:

2. Rod

Rod No Silly Robot User Name

I did something like what you want to here:
    http://www.tfw2005.com/boards/radic...t-love-classics-bad-boy.html?highlight=badboy

OUt of habbit I took it all the way apart, (but couldnt salvage the electronics)

I had the black repaint to so I used that as a guide. Powerglide is a simple enough figure to take apart and put together. But a simple trick to make things easier is using masking tape on any posts so make the reassembly a bit smoother

I got my decals from a few different "movie upgrade" sets from reprolabels.

but if waterslides are your thing you can get them here: