my external hard drive failed, what's the possibility of getting files off it?

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by ckhtiger, Jul 25, 2008.

1. ckhtiger

ckhtiger old skool fool

it figures, I buy a larger drive (500GB)to back up my previous one (250GB) that was full, and when I plug in my old one, it starts ticking. autoplay pops up, and it stays stuck on what is the first folder. in this case, anime. if you go into explore, you can see all of the subfolders, but that is it. my girlfriends brother and father are both computer guys by profession, and I guess her brother was able to recover about 13 gigs of it.

now most of this was videogames and anime that I had downloaded, plus my entire music collection, so I can probably get most of that on the net again, but the pictures of vacations and such are what I'm most worried about. does anyone know what it might cost to take that drive someplace and have a professional recover it? I'm sure in this day and age, it's possible to get it all back, right?

2. Jux

Jux Please, call me Steve. Veteran

I Googled "professional hard drive recovery" and found numerous sites providing software, as well as a few companies that do the service. I only found one so far that provided a quote, and using the information you provided they quoted:

Estimated Charges
    Standard fee for Microsoft Windows: $378.99
    High Capacity Surcharge (210GB - 260GB): $25.00
    Clean Room (if necessary)*: $300.00
    Total Estimated Charges: $403.99 to 703.99

I would imagine most other places would fall into similar price ranges.

The company name is Gillware Inc.

3. ckhtiger

ckhtiger old skool fool

wow dude, thanks for doing all the work for me :thumb  I found a site or two, but I don't have the drive at home right now, so I didn't feel like making up some info for those estimates.