Customs: My dreaded nightmare: panel lining

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Obliterator999, Jan 29, 2011.

1. Obliterator999

Obliterator999 Well-Known Member

Ebay:
    OK so, if you click my sig you can see a few customs I'm working on. I'm actually finished painting most of them but I need to add some panel lining, but, from past experience, this has always been my achilles heel. It's not so much that I'm not good at making panel lines but rather that I cannot find for the life of me a marker that can give me a consistent job and not die on me after 2 strokes.

I have a plethora of Gundam markers but from what I read, those are most effective using directly on plastic, otherwise they clog up with paint and become useless. In the past I've also used Micron markers but they usually wouldn't last very long either. Anyone know a brand of markers that can actually lasts when used on paint? Or something that can be cleaned up, like a rapidograph or something (I use to have one and it kinda did the job except it was incredibly messy to use)?

2. thyvipera

thyvipera ThyVipera

what are your customs painted with at the moment? I usually paint my figures with enamels, and when I need to panel line them, I use acrylics for the panel lining. I do about 2 inches at a time. I make sure the area is painted well, dab a paper towel with rubbing alcohol, and wipe the area clean, and you'll have a 2 inch area that's panel lined. I'm not good at explaning these types of things, so I hope that makes some sense.

3. Ellamin

Ellamin Moonbeam Dreamer

News Credits:
    I use a pencil.

4. Obliterator999

Obliterator999 Well-Known Member

Ebay:
    I use water-based acrylics so doing washes, which is what you seem to be describing, can't be done or I'll wipe my entire paint job with it. XD

5. Fishdirt

Fishdirt Tin Toy Transformer

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Couldn't you mask the area around the lines and spray paint or put primer in?

6. hXcpunk23