My 1st new computer in 5 years

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Scourge, Aug 3, 2008.

  1. Scourge

    Scourge I shall rise again

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    797
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    Hey all

    I just built my first water-cooled system.
    here are the Specs

    Tower Thermaltake Keldore Lcs
    Processor Amd Phenom Quad core 9850 2.50 gig
    Asus Motherboard wifi edition
    2 gigs of Corsair 1066 Dominator DDR 2 Memory
    I terrbyte Hard dirive from seatgate
    750 watt Thermaltake Pure power supply
    Geforce 8800 gs edition

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Jux

    Jux Please, call me Steve. Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2002
    Posts:
    22,664
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +0
    Sounds like a sweet rig. I like AMD, it's a shame they have terrible business practices or else they could really do well in the processor market.

    What OS are you running?
     
  3. Scourge

    Scourge I shall rise again

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    797
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    Vista 32 bit as i did not feel like going to purchase another copy of xp
     
  4. jorod74

    jorod74 Psycholagnist (Ret.)

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Posts:
    7,559
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +2
    Ebay:
    I am wanting to go XP instead of keeping Vista anymore.
    But gawd, man....a TERRABYTE hard drive?
    you doing work for credit card companies? lol.
    Anyhoo, i like you system.
     
  5. MegaPrime33

    MegaPrime33 Follow me @NerdActivist TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,767
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +1
    That's a pretty good system. Though I'm not a fan of the extra light it emits. Mine used to do that, it was annoying. I've actually been thinking of picking up the new Dell Hybrid.
     
  6. Joe Moore

    Joe Moore Is Not Jim... Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Posts:
    14,471
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +7
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    Nice system setup. Are you running anything that's taking advantage of the Quad Core?
     
  7. Scourge

    Scourge I shall rise again

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    797
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +0
    I do a lot of video encoding and video related stuff.
     
  8. Codimus Prime

    Codimus Prime Missouri Toy Hunter

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Posts:
    3,515
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Wow thats a nice comp... congrats on the buildup!
     
  9. optimus major

    optimus major Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Posts:
    1,674
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +1
    damn man....that's one hell of an upgrade....
     
  10. ambushbug74

    ambushbug74 Stroke me, Stroke me! TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Posts:
    7,750
    Trophy Points:
    241
    Likes:
    +0
    Must be some quality porn to need that kinda processing power. Can probably see all the surgical scars on the girls.
     
  11. jdre_124

    jdre_124 Super Dick

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    3,431
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +3
    That's just nasty. :lol 
     
  12. TheIncredibleHulk

    TheIncredibleHulk Find Gary Busey!

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Posts:
    8,232
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +13

    I just looked up the Dell Hybrid, cause I hadn't heard of it. Not sure I would like that, wouldn't be able to upgrade anything.

    I've been trying to build a new PC for a few years now, every time I think I'm going to have extra cash to buy parts, something else comes up. I just play Dr Frankenstein on my current PC if something breaks.
     

Share This Page