Customs: MP Prime's Megatron's stock cast

Discussion in 'Requests' started by rattraprules98, Dec 4, 2010.

  1. rattraprules98

    rattraprules98 AKA Chr0nus

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Posts:
    3,630
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Location:
    California
    Likes:
    +17
    Can someone please cast this in a sturdier black plastic than the originals that matches the originals color or painted to match. Shapeways might work, but I rather be sure that the color matched and that it wouldn't break as soon as I got it.I know that this part has broken on many people's figure and this would be in high demand.

    Thanks
    -Rattraprules98
     
  2. CrypticIllusionist

    CrypticIllusionist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Posts:
    1,767
    Trophy Points:
    142
    Likes:
    +2
    Come to think of it, mine's broken too. Come to think of it, I have skills with modeling software and an account on Shapeways.
    I've completely lost the clip that holds the stock on the handle. Out of curiosity, is there any actual purpose to the pin? It never seemed to be important and I could easily model it with or without (without would, of course, be easier).
     
  3. cingularman31

    cingularman31 Alternator Freak

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Posts:
    493
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +1
    It allowed the stock to rotate down. Mine is frzen now because it broke and i glued it back together.

    Stixx
     
  4. rattraprules98

    rattraprules98 AKA Chr0nus

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Posts:
    3,630
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Location:
    California
    Likes:
    +17
    If you can, make it with the pin.
     
  5. CrypticIllusionist

    CrypticIllusionist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Posts:
    1,767
    Trophy Points:
    142
    Likes:
    +2
    Noted. I actually got around to working on it a bit today (my semester ended yesterday so I finally have some significant time to myself. I probably would have had it almost done if my software didn't insist on locking up so much, but it's coming along without any major problems. I doubt it will take me any longer than a week.

    EDIT: This is where I am now:
    [​IMG]
    Obviously it's not much, but it's proportionally correct and a good starting point.
     
  6. rattraprules98

    rattraprules98 AKA Chr0nus

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Posts:
    3,630
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Location:
    California
    Likes:
    +17
    Sweet!
     
  7. C. Wallace

    C. Wallace Freelance Artist

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Posts:
    386
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +0
    What about re doing this in metal? Any interest there? I have a friend that spin casts metal...I can probably make this happen if there is enough demand.
     
  8. rattraprules98

    rattraprules98 AKA Chr0nus

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Posts:
    3,630
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Location:
    California
    Likes:
    +17
    ^That would be awesome!
     
  9. CrypticIllusionist

    CrypticIllusionist Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Posts:
    1,767
    Trophy Points:
    142
    Likes:
    +2
    Give it a try if you like. Progress on my model has come to a screeching halt due to the holidays. It shouldn't take me much longer, but I'm not going to get it done in the next couple days as I originally thought.
     
  10. rattraprules98

    rattraprules98 AKA Chr0nus

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2009
    Posts:
    3,630
    News Credits:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Location:
    California
    Likes:
    +17
    Any progress?
     

Share This Page