Minor/Repaint: Movie Leader/MP Starscream Thrusters (WIP)

Discussion in 'Radicons Customs' started by Timesynch, May 9, 2011.

1. Timesynch

Timesynch Is a Bad Hombre!

News Credits:
    Seems like a moot point given this little bit of news: http://www.tfw2005.com/boards/transformers-news-rumors/401936-third-party-accessory-leader-class-starscream.html

But I was in the middle of kitbashing some jet engine thrusters for my Takara MP-M01 (Movie Masterpiece) Starscream. I was inspired by Frenzy_Rumble's previous work on a more screen-accurate Screamer, using two of Energon Scorponok's jet engine feet that I got cheap off eBay.

I have zero experience with kitbashing and/or painting of any kind since I was a kid, so this is all a little new to me and my first real attempt at customizing anything TF-related. Still, it was a fun learning experience!

I MacGyver'd the boosters onto Screamer's back using parts taken from two wire/shirt clips that came with JVC Air ear buds/headphones. Shame I had to scavenge them for parts since the clips themselves are very handy when used for their intended purpose. XD

Anyway, the thrusters slide and clip on to Screamer's back fairly securely with metal pins I pulled off a miniature Yankees Stadium souvenir replica (they were the foul ball posts, haha - and they fit nicely into the holes meant for the spring hinges after I removed them from the clips). After unscrewing and taking the thrusters apart, I just slotted the clips into the holes on the jet engines meant for Scorponok's shovel-feet, screwed them back together, and whaddya know, everything is a perfect fit!