Movie Blackout Problem

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by optimusfan, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. optimusfan

    optimusfan Kill your heroes Administrator TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Posts:
    11,028
    News Credits:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    327
    Likes:
    +59
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    OK, so my girlfriend got me Blackout as an anniversary gift (I picked him out). I like the figure, but transforming him back to Pave Low mode is driving me nuts. For the life of me I can't get the clips on the sides to line up with the cockpit piece. When they finally do line up the legs pop off and hang below the main body of the 'copter. If I push that back up the middle of his cockpit swings upward.

    I've tried everything I can think of. I was hoping that messing with the folding black plastic piece that runs most of the length of the helicopter would help, but I still can't make it work. Can anyone help me out?
     
  2. NGW

    NGW Rawr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Posts:
    7,669
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +13
    It is a very very common problem (one of the reason he's my least favorite voyager).

    Has to do with his automorph not working. You have to open him up and realign the gears.
     
  3. Samana Rombuca

    Samana Rombuca Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Posts:
    1,456
    Trophy Points:
    161
    Likes:
    +0
    Or scrub it and get a new one! :p 
     
  4. NGW

    NGW Rawr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Posts:
    7,669
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +13
    I'm just glad mine didn't have the problem in the first place...his automorph just works going into bot mode on mine, I do it manually into alt.
     
  5. SPLIT LIP

    SPLIT LIP Dry built

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Posts:
    66,341
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    407
    Location:
    agile house
    Likes:
    +811
    I'm still not sure if mine had this problem. When I got him I had the same thing, yet one day when my Sister's BF was over messing with him, he got him in MH-53 mode and, viola!
     
  6. Razorclaw

    Razorclaw Are ya gonna draw pistols

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    5,024
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Wierd stuff. He mustn't like you guys, if he gives you troubles when transforming.
     
  7. optimusfan

    optimusfan Kill your heroes Administrator TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Posts:
    11,028
    News Credits:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    327
    Likes:
    +59
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    There's no way known that I can do it without taking him apart???
     
  8. NGW

    NGW Rawr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Posts:
    7,669
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +13
    Either take him apart or get a new one.
     
  9. onesock

    onesock Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2006
    Posts:
    8,177
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +1
    Ebay:
    Mine never had the problem to begin with. I was shocked when he lined up fine it alternate mode. I was like, "Wait...he's supposed to have a problem...right?"
     
  10. Sunstorm9119

    Sunstorm9119 RC 1136

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    2,951
    Trophy Points:
    212
    Location:
    Interlachen Florida
    Likes:
    +2
    Ebay:
    It's nice to know someone else has this problem, now I gotta fix it though...
     
  11. Laser_Optimus

    Laser_Optimus Your opinion was noted. Now get lost. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Posts:
    11,334
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    327
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida
    Likes:
    +114
    Ebay:
    See, mine has the problem when transforming him from alt to robot, but when I do it in reverse it goes back to alt just fine. It's very weird. I'd crack him open, but sense I hardly ever transform my TFs and usually leave them in robot mode I just do it manually. It's not that difficult.
     
  12. Prime64

    Prime64 In state of deep blue

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Posts:
    105
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +0
    Mine seems to be working, though I have to give the middle front piece a little push sometimes before the automorph feature works. I just manually align the head, and everything seems to snap back into place.
     
  13. Mike

    Mike Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,738
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    geez.. are there any movie toys that wont fall apart??

    sure, you may have one or two that stay together (for now) but in 10 years.. will there be any surviving loose movie toys?

    this is looking very bad on hasbro's end. How do they expect to sell toys for the 2nd film, if all the 1st movie toys fall apart.

    I've yet to buy any movie toys because I can't really afford it right now, but the more and more I hear of them falling apart, I dont think I really want to risk buying them.
     
  14. Prime64

    Prime64 In state of deep blue

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Posts:
    105
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +0
    The quality isn't bad at all. Out of the 5 I've got, they seem pretty sturdy, and no worse than the average toy. Some of the pieces do seem to snap off easily, but that's intentional to prevent breaking the toy. The only lame part is the automorph feature which doesn't work very well.
     
  15. NGW

    NGW Rawr

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Posts:
    7,669
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +13
    Of the movie figures I have, the only one with a major problem is Blackout, and even then I can still transform him manually so it isn't such a problem. Brawl's shoulders are a bit annoying, but tolerable.
     
  16. Hi Q

    Hi Q I don't want a user title

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Posts:
    760
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Likes:
    +1
    Make sure the black folding parts are completely straightened. They have to snap into place. Mine didn't like doing that the first time, and I had some problems aligning stuff as well.
     
  17. Pravus Prime

    Pravus Prime Sorcerer

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Posts:
    14,116
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    277
    Likes:
    +70
    I waited and got the TRU twopack with Scorponok, and mine doesn't have that problem; perhaps because mine came in robot mode?
     
  18. optimusfan

    optimusfan Kill your heroes Administrator TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Posts:
    11,028
    News Credits:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    327
    Likes:
    +59
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    I did have the black folding piece straight. I had noticed that it is designed to snap up under the rotors...

    Anyhow, he's fixed now. I had to remove the two screws (as suggested above) and realign the gears. Why these can't just be forced back into place w/o taking it apart is beyond me. Hopefully it won't happen again, though I'm not counting on it. Thanks for the tips!
     
  19. mx-01 archon

    mx-01 archon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Posts:
    15,047
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +103
    I think it has to do something with that lone spring in there. I'm not sure why or how it does its thing, but it seems to help prevent the gears from slipping. Unfortunately, it's still somewhat possible to knock the mechanism out of alignment, but with the spring in place, nigh impossible to force it back into alignment. If you don't mind transforming him manually, you can take the spring out.
     

Share This Page