More Important XBOX Live Help

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Gnaw, Nov 30, 2006.

  1. Gnaw

    Gnaw Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,548
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    So I have had my 360 for almost a year now and I have finally decided to get Live hooked up. Since I bought a new computer desk and LCD monitor I decided to move my 360 to my basement and play it on my PC. This also conviences me when hooking up to the internet, as I can just plug it in to the modem. Atleast that's what I thought. When I try to run Live, it doesn't recognize my IP address. I am directly plugging it into the modem. So I entered my IP address manually. Didn't connect. I phoned XBOX and my ISP, got a busy signel or no real answers. Anyone else have this problem and can provide me with a fix?
     
  2. Gnaw

    Gnaw Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,548
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    I desperatley need help on this one. I am not speding more money on this thing just to get it connected. I wish it was plug and play....stupid Microsoft. Not to mention their phone lines are jammed.
     
  3. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    Perhaps your modem isn't compatible. There's a list out there somewhere of compatible models. I believe some modems have certain options that need to be set correctly for online gaming.
     
  4. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    Have you tried to set to automatically assign a IP address?
     
  5. Metal Soldier

    Metal Soldier The Robot

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Posts:
    5,182
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    You could hook it up to the PC, activate Internet Connection Sharing, and basically let the comptuer act like a router. It worked fine for the Xbox and should work for the Xbox 360.
     
  6. 03Mach1

    03Mach1 Reason Has No Voice

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Posts:
    15,265
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +26
    Ebay:
    This man speaks the truth. Automatic IP FTW!
     

Share This Page