Microsoft Service Pack 3

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Spider Striker, Mar 1, 2009.

  1. Spider Striker

    Spider Striker ThisGuyWithTheYellowCap

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    7,063
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Is there anyway to fix the damage it causes without doing a system restore? I'm an idiot and I've been tricked twice and I just don't wanna deal with that hassel again.

    Any and all help will be appreciated.

    Thanks from Safe Mode,
    Spider Striker
     
  2. stuntacon1

    stuntacon1 Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Posts:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Likes:
    +0
    i am not shure but dont call microsoft. mine had the e71 error and i called they told me owell i hope you dont have to restore
     
  3. Chrono Grimlock

    Chrono Grimlock Perfect By Nature

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Posts:
    5,905
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +4
    You had that Error for XP and your 360?


    If you're referring to XP SP3 you can uninstall it in Add/Remove Programs.

    If it's something else entirely I'll back out of this thread now...
     
  4. Spider Striker

    Spider Striker ThisGuyWithTheYellowCap

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    7,063
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    It's the XP one. Sorry for not being clear and thank you for the help.

    EDIT: Okay, I'm not seeing "Service Pack 3" in the "Add/Remove Programs" list. Is it called something else?
     
  5. Blaster

    Blaster Australian Ghetto Blaster

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    285
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Likes:
    +40
    Ebay:
    Instagram:
    You probably already know this, but do you have the "show updates" box at the top of the list ticked?

    I know I missed it when I was first looking for updates to delete.
     
  6. llamatron

    llamatron Shut up, Nigel. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Posts:
    8,969
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    Format and then never touch SP3 again because it's a horrible horrible mess that will ruin your computer.
     
  7. AnimatedFan

    AnimatedFan Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Posts:
    2,657
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +0
    If you can't remove SP3 from the Add/Remove Programs screen, your only option is to format the computer, and reinstall a fresh set of Windows.

    NOTE: When installing a SP, or upgrading from Home edition to Professional, etc. Do not throw out the files it leaves behind. If you remove them (and it will warn you before confirming) it nullifies the rollback setup in Windows (where you can go back to a different driver, etc.) And you're stuck with the new update you've just screwed yourself with.

    Reinstall Windows, install SP 2 (if you haven't already) and just download any and all updates that the system requires.
     
  8. RabidYak

    RabidYak Go Ninja Go Ninja Go

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    8,455
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +21
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/950249

    If none of that works, do a clean install followed by updated drivers and then SP3.

    I'd do a clean install anyway if it was my machine, not being able to take a Service Pack is a pretty good indicator that your current install isn't as healthy as it should be and you'll need SP3 if you intending to hang on to XP past July 2010.
     
  9. Spider Striker

    Spider Striker ThisGuyWithTheYellowCap

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    7,063
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    No, I did not know that! Thanks! :D 

    Back to running normally, and I'll look into re-installing windows. Thanks everybody!
     

Share This Page