Microsoft releases beta of Vista-readiness checker

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Streck, May 18, 2006.

  1. Streck

    Streck <B><FONT COLOR="#FF0000">QED</B></FONT> Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    9,991
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +0
  2. Shin-Gouki

    Shin-Gouki Rebuilding Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,937
    News Credits:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    302
    Location:
    Originally: Huntington Beach, CA, Now: Cincinnati
    Likes:
    +40
    Need Nvdia to publish Nforce 4 Drivers and I would have to get the Vista version of the Graphics driver as well but everything else checks out. Not that I am suprised having the Beta on a multi-boot.
     
  3. Seth Buzzard

    Seth Buzzard R.I.P. Buzzbeak Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    15,170
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +4
    All it said I need to do is update my audio drivers and free up some hard drive space.
     
  4. FreshDebesh

    FreshDebesh <b><font color=brickred>oye chak de phatte!</font> Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    8,865
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +0
    Need more ram.
     
  5. Frognal

    Frognal Prodigal Son Returned

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Posts:
    4,503
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Hardware-wise I just need to free up some space on my hardrive. Though 15gb just for an OS seems silly, even with triple digit hardrives. As for the software side, no surprises.
     
  6. Chrono Grimlock

    Chrono Grimlock Perfect By Nature

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Posts:
    5,905
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +4
    I needs more Ram which is great because I've been itching to move up from 256 for quite sometime.
     
  7. KidDynamite

    KidDynamite don't know nothing Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2002
    Posts:
    15,627
    Trophy Points:
    296
    Likes:
    +0
    Need a new video card, which I knew already. That's pretty cool, thanks for posting this. I was afraid I was going to have to do a lot more than that to run it.
     
  8. Sol Fury

    Sol Fury The British Butcher Administrator News Staff

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    35,576
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    317
    Likes:
    +34
    Facebook:
    Instagram:
    "Sorry, you must run setup on Windows XP or Vista"

    Guess my Win 2000 system just doesn't cut it!
     
  9. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    Looks like I'm fine to run Vista.

    Though I did have a long list of drivers needed, but I'm guessing that due to them not being published yet.
     
  10. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    Same here...here's to hoping they do.
     
  11. Streck

    Streck <B><FONT COLOR="#FF0000">QED</B></FONT> Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    9,991
    Trophy Points:
    221
    Likes:
    +0
    I definitely like the idea that I'd be getting value out of my $300 video card every second that I was in Windows, not just when I was playing games. However, it would take a lot to pry me away from the beloved gray, no-nonsense Classic theme.
     
  12. MegaPrime33

    MegaPrime33 Follow me @NerdActivist TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,768
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +1
    Currently this software is not available for download.
     
  13. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    Ok, this is odd. I ran it a couple days ago, and there was a TON of drivers it said I needed to update. I ran it again today, and that list has gone down significantly.

    Does it update the driver database every time I run it?
     
  14. Zero Prime

    Zero Prime Windows user no more

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    Posts:
    2,587
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Upgrade my ram or get a dedicated video card. I hate Intergrated Graphics. Now I got a good reason to upgrade, even though the Onboard Nvidia has been playing games well.
     
  15. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    I suspect as new drivers are created to work with Vista they are added to it's database, as I just ran it and the list of drivers I need have been reduced.
     
  16. Mike

    Mike Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,738
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    pass

    my computer barely runs XP :p 
     

Share This Page