Megatron as Frankenstein’s Monster: Observations From an English Lit. student

Discussion in 'Transformers Movie Discussion' started by SKowl, Aug 6, 2007.

1. SKowl

SKowl Rubber Golem

Megatron as Frankenstein’s Monster: observations from an English Literature student

Warning: the following contains spoilers not only from the Transformers Movie, but from the novel Frankenstein as well.

So I saw the Transformers Movie again last week. Boy, I don’t think I’ll get tired of seeing this movie anytime soon, at least not this summer. You see, I’m a university student who spends most of his year reading, researching and writing. I’m an English Literature major, and a lot of what I deal with during the year is classic literature, novels and poetry and such. Needless to say that by the time July comes around, courses are over and I finally get a brief vacation. It’s time for my brain to relax and stop thinking about these old books written by even older people, right?

Wrong, apparently.

Because when I caught an afternoon showing of Transformers, my brain fell back into “university student” mode, and I caught something in the film that I believe would be very interesting to share with the fandom. It happened during the flashback scene, where Prime explains how Sam’s grandfather discovered Megatron while sailing the Arctic Circle. That’s when it hit me, maybe… Megatron is Frankenstein’s Monster, either a deliberate allusion from the writers, or just a coincidence, you decided.