Media server...anyone built one?

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Dragonclaw, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. Dragonclaw

    Dragonclaw Comic Ink - Dublin, CA

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Posts:
    6,413
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +16
    In an attempt to free up a TON of space I've been tossing about the idea of building a media server for our home. Ideally I want to be able to rip all my DVD's to a centralized hub and stream it to computers hooked up to the living room (hopefully with a good surround sound) and the bedroom TV's so that we don't have DVD's all over the place. Has anyone here done something like this and have any tips? How much HD space would be ideal for an INSANE ammount of content? Any pitfalls I should watch for? Best hardware / software to run and keep the end result at a high quality? I'm pretty much a noob when it comes to building this from scratch, but the DVDs are taking up a huge chunk of the living room...and if I can get this done I can simply store the DVDs in comic boxes with the collection.
     
  2. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    So a DVD is what, 8-9 gigs at most? Just take that and multiply it by the number of DVDs you have. I'd guess you'll need at least a terabyte.

    I thought about getting a media server until I realized linking my Xbox downstairs and computer upstairs work just fine in that regard.
     
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2010
  3. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,705
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +3
    I used to build media servers for a living until my employer decided to stop paying and buy cars and go on cruises instead.

    I’m not sure how detailed I can get on this forum without breaking the rules.
    Anytime you take any content, anything at all, from 5 inch optical media you are breaking the law.
    It doesn’t matter if you legally bought it or not.
    It doesn’t matter how stupid and anachronistic the law is, it is the facts.

    I will say that Microsoft’s Media Center is probably the easiest to set up and it’s included in Windows 7.
    It even has plug ins that will enable you to view the ripped movies in WMC.
    Also, 9 GB per movie is a good figure.
    You could compress it to 4.5, but why would you want to
     
  4. RabidYak

    RabidYak Go Ninja Go Ninja Go

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    8,467
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +31
    You worked for Pat Lee? Picture of you walking away from nuclear explosion while smoking a ciggie or GTFO.
     
  5. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,705
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +3
    Nice.
    And, yeah he totally Pat Lee'd me.
     
  6. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
  7. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,705
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +3
    Nice links.

    I've heard that Boxee on Apple TV is the coolness, but Apple keeps releasing updates that do nothing to the product except break Boxee. :( 
     
  8. Tyrannosaur

    Tyrannosaur 100% Sarcastic Saurian

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Posts:
    4,110
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Likes:
    +0
    Just remember, if it gains an intelligence and takes over all electrical appliances within your household (And maybe a few nearby houses) you did something wrong.


    lol. Sounds like a good idea actually. Complex yet interesting.
     
  9. Hook

    Hook Out of Options Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    11,454
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Location:
    Gatineau, Quebec
    Likes:
    +2
    Facebook:
    You'll need a couple of things:

    First, get this:
    D-Link 2-Bay Network Storage Enclosure

    Then add two 1 terabye HDs and you're golden. THe 323 can be configured so it sees the 1Tb drives as one single 2Tb drive.

    All you need after that is a device to stream to your TV, i.e. a gaming console or a small media device like the Acer Aspire Revo. then map your Dlink 323 to your console/nettop and you're done!
     

Share This Page