Minor/Repaint: Masterpiece Skywarp repaint

Discussion in 'Radicons Customs' started by Deckard, Jan 18, 2008.

1. Deckard

Deckard "Time to die"

Hi all,
    This is my first post so be kind:wink: . Just thought I would share some pics of my repainted Skywarp. There was nothing wrong with the original - I just didn't like the shiny black and pink colour scheme.
    I disassembled him, and airbrushed the whole body with Tamiya German Grey:Matt Black in a 50:50 mix. Next drybrushed the metal areas with gun metal and flat aluminium before doing the purple. I hand painted the purple with a mix of Tamiya purple with a little white to raise the tone a little.
    Each white line is hand painted in using masking tape (takes time but worth it), each panel line drawn in with an 0.25mm pen and the whole lot sealed with matt varnish. I left off the stripes because I wanted him to be a bit more current US military than G1 cartoon (my background is military and sci-fi modelling).
    I'm pretty pleased with the result, what do you reckon?
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

Attached Files:

2. seali_me

seali_me Buhawi Gabay-Tala

i love the paint job. i want one like yours.

3. doomtron

doomtron seeker

News Credits:
    makes me wish i had one to paint. nice work. and welcome to the boards man.

4. Big_Daddy

Big_Daddy The. Balls. Will. Touch.<br><b><font color=blue>Bi

News Credits:
    Wow, that looks great! I wish I had the room and equipment for airbrushing... Nice job!

5. swampflight

swampflight Banned

That is one killer paint job!Ant chance of posting pics of him in jet mode?

6. seali_me

seali_me Buhawi Gabay-Tala

i have a MP5 and MP6 coming in next week. i don't like shiny jets. i want to see yours in jet mode.

7. Deckard

Deckard "Time to die"

mine is robot mode only, transforming him just scrapes the paint off the joints and where the surfaces rub and its just a pain to touch up every time - sorry guys.

8. doomtron

doomtron seeker

News Credits: