Masterpiece Laserwave not working

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by Dark Jedi, Aug 16, 2016.

  1. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Posts:
    2,634
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, IL
    Likes:
    +171
    Ebay:
    So I finally got around to putting in the LR44 batteries into MP Laserwave. I also installed the two AAA batteries into the back section. But when I flip the switch nothing happens. Did I get a dud? Is there something else I'm missing? I haven't heard too many complaints around here about his electronics so I'm not sure what the problem is.
     
  2. Motor_Master

    Motor_Master Lets the balls touch

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2002
    Posts:
    12,119
    News Credits:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    392
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    Likes:
    +424
    I'll start with the obvious question:

    Did you try flipping the batteries around or make sure they're installed correctly?

    I sold ROTF Devastator on ebay and the buyer contacted me saying the electronics were busted, before I could even reply, he replied saying he had put one of the batteries in backwards.
     
  3. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Posts:
    2,634
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, IL
    Likes:
    +171
    Ebay:
    I'm just following what is listed on the toy, + and - slots. Are you saying that it's listed wrong on the toy?
     
  4. beardy

    beardy Toto, I've a feeling we're not in Kansas anymore.

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Posts:
    792
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Naaaaarfolk
    Likes:
    +584
    No, they are not saying that.

    Post some photos of the compartments with the batteries installed.

    That way people who own it can compare to see if there is any obvious differences between yours and theirs.
    There may be obvious parts missing or different.
    Otherwise people are just shooting in the dark with ideas or giving you the wrong idea...
     
  5. 1BLD

    1BLD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Posts:
    181
    Trophy Points:
    82
    Likes:
    +51
    Silly question, but do you mean the switch on his side or the trigger?
     
  6. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Posts:
    2,634
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, IL
    Likes:
    +171
    Ebay:
    Ok strange enough the light came on for a minute all the batteries were fine. So I shut it off and back on again and nothing. Is this thing in a timer? It turns on at random.
     
  7. Slave IV

    Slave IV more wealth than you can imagine!

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    10,941
    Trophy Points:
    277
    Likes:
    +3,874
    Where did you get your batteries from? I documented my issues with the hand laser in the Shockwave thread. In the end, it was bad batteries. I bought them from ebay and when I put them in, the light would come on for a few seconds and then nothing. If I took the batteries out and put back in, same thing, on for a few seconds and then nothing. When the seller sent me another batch of batteries, it worked perfectly.
     
  8. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Posts:
    2,634
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, IL
    Likes:
    +171
    Ebay:
    I ordered from Amazon. I'm using Maxell LR44 with eneloop rechargeable AAA's. I just switched out the AAA's for some Amazon non rechargeable's with a new pair of LR44's and still nothing. So I guess this is a battery issue and not something with the figure?
     
  9. general saberwi

    general saberwi legoformer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Posts:
    710
    Trophy Points:
    147
    Likes:
    +210
    You've tried swapping out batteries, so that's probably not the issue. You've got a finicky contact somewhere, in a bad solder joint, or loose wire, and when you fiddle around with it, it works, but other times, you've got a bad connection. If you can, I'd recommend getting an exchange, but if you're feeling brave, you can crack open the figure and see what's what.
     
  10. SuperGiantThing

    SuperGiantThing Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Posts:
    444
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    122
    Location:
    Texas
    Likes:
    +142
    I read "soundwave" and couldn't stop laughing D:
    Hope you get this issue fixed!
     
  11. shadowfall1976

    shadowfall1976 The Alpha and the Optimus

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Posts:
    4,854
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +527
    Stupid question, but you're using the trigger in the abdomen and button on the side of the forearm right? If so, then maybe it's bad batteries or something... Hope you figure it out and get it fixed. I haven't even gotten batteries in the arm yet just for the gun barrel.

    The switch is just to switch between the two barrel light effects not for off and on. One is for single trigger hits and the other makes it flash 10 times by pulling the trigger once. Just in case for some odd reason you didn't think of that.
     
  12. Slave IV

    Slave IV more wealth than you can imagine!

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    10,941
    Trophy Points:
    277
    Likes:
    +3,874
    When you switched batteries, were they from the same batch? If so, get a new batch and try.
     
  13. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Posts:
    2,634
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, IL
    Likes:
    +171
    Ebay:
    It's working now guys. It's pulsating so I think it should be ok. BUt I guess there is no option for constant lighting?
     
  14. Slave IV

    Slave IV more wealth than you can imagine!

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    10,941
    Trophy Points:
    277
    Likes:
    +3,874
    Not for the hand laser. What was the problem?
     
  15. Dark Jedi

    Dark Jedi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Posts:
    2,634
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Location:
    Arlington Heights, IL
    Likes:
    +171
    Ebay:
    I needed to charge the batteries again.
     
  16. Slave IV

    Slave IV more wealth than you can imagine!

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    Posts:
    10,941
    Trophy Points:
    277
    Likes:
    +3,874
    OK, so we know the hand led is extremely sensitive to the power it gets.
     
  17. Sam

    Sam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2013
    Posts:
    6,685
    News Credits:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    282
    Likes:
    +13,927
    I'm still so bummed I wore out the batteries in his gun-arm so quickly :( 

    Anyone else worn out theirs yet? Guess I shoulda stopped using him as a night light
     

Share This Page