Masterpiece Chest Gimmick

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by TfAnimatedfan, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. TfAnimatedfan

    TfAnimatedfan Five. Dollar. Headband.

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Posts:
    1,673
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +6
    I can't seem to get the Autobot symbol to slide up all the way in robot mode. Any help would be much appreciated.
    Edit: I'm sorry about the typo in the title. I am talking about Masterpiece Grimlock
     
  2. Scarecrow

    Scarecrow Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Posts:
    273
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    Are we talking about MP Grimlock? It takes a little pushing to get it down sometimes, make sure there aren't any pieces in the way, like the dino arms or anything.
     
  3. TfAnimatedfan

    TfAnimatedfan Five. Dollar. Headband.

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Posts:
    1,673
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +6
    It feels like I've pushed just about as hard as I can without the flimsy waist snapping.
     
  4. Scarecrow

    Scarecrow Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Posts:
    273
    Trophy Points:
    76
    Likes:
    +0
    I really don't think I can help without pictures of what's going on.
     
  5. TfAnimatedfan

    TfAnimatedfan Five. Dollar. Headband.

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Posts:
    1,673
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +6
    I'll post pictures tomorrow. The robot chest has an Autobot symbol that slides up into place after you slide the waist up into the torso. It fills out that Autobot symbol shaped hole behind that window-like piece on the chest.
     
  6. process

    process Hanlon's razor Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    7,735
    News Credits:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Likes:
    +167
    Ebay:
    You need to make sure the little "hook" engages with the spring-loaded Autobot logo panel. Pics in 3 ... 2 ...

    See attached. Make sure the red hook pushes in the grey button. You should not feel any resistance plugging it in, and the logo will reveal when the chest is fully seated on the hips. It's quite easy to miss this connection, and often the hook will end up behind where it should plug in.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Oct 10, 2010
  7. TfAnimatedfan

    TfAnimatedfan Five. Dollar. Headband.

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Posts:
    1,673
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +6
    I have been doing that. My problem is that the logo will only half ways appear. I've never gotten it to fully deploy.
     
  8. ersico

    ersico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    8,197
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    191
    Likes:
    +1
    i feel ya , mine goes up bout 5/6 of the way, theres a little deadspace at the top where it should go all the way up. ..the red piece makes contact with the grey piece t reveal the insig, but just stops. no matter how hard it gets pushed... just wont go all the way
     
  9. TfAnimatedfan

    TfAnimatedfan Five. Dollar. Headband.

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Posts:
    1,673
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +6
    This is exactly my problem. I'm thinking you could open up the the little gimmick and sand something down. If any Radicons have messed with the gimmick help would be appreciated.
     
  10. MidnightBliss

    MidnightBliss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Posts:
    4,131
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +4
    Mine doesn't go all the way up either. I tried for almost an hour before I quit.
     
  11. Tigertrack

    Tigertrack Back In The Game!

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Posts:
    7,054
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +2
    Must be QC issue cause mine seems to fit perfectly.
     
  12. TfAnimatedfan

    TfAnimatedfan Five. Dollar. Headband.

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Posts:
    1,673
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +6
    Well I was right. I was able to unscrew the gimmick, sand a piece down, and put everything back together in the space of about 20 min. I'll try my best to get a bit of a tutorial up later.
     
  13. ersico

    ersico Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Posts:
    8,197
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    191
    Likes:
    +1
    sweet
    i look forward to it :) 
     
  14. TfAnimatedfan

    TfAnimatedfan Five. Dollar. Headband.

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Posts:
    1,673
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +6
    The fix works best as a display thing. If you move him around then the torso will wable and the gimmick will spring back to it's unfixed possision. Besides that, Grimmy looks fine on display, you just have to fiddle with the torso to get the logo to the right position.
     
  15. Roanstalker

    Roanstalker Great Baan Gaan fan

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2006
    Posts:
    12,364
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +12
    Are these Hasbro versions with the problem? My Takara one doesnt have an problems.
     
  16. ElekTriC

    ElekTriC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Posts:
    4,631
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +184
    have the same problem, but is it normal the chest is kinda loss?
     
  17. TfAnimatedfan

    TfAnimatedfan Five. Dollar. Headband.

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Posts:
    1,673
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    126
    Likes:
    +6
    Yes. Mine was the Hasbro version.
     
  18. harrismonkey

    harrismonkey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Posts:
    5,305
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +41
    Same here.

    It's good to know I paid extra for something. (other than getting it a year sooner- which was worth it)

    (Usually the Takara versions are better (IMHO)- in the case of Grimlock it was looking like maybe Hasbro had actually delivered the better version- and that almost never happens).
     
  19. Kevin XI

    Kevin XI Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,656
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Lewisville TX
    Likes:
    +4
    Aw damn, mine doesn't come up all the way either. Looks like all you need is to make the peice that pushes it up a little longer. Just a lttle bit.
     
  20. process

    process Hanlon's razor Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2008
    Posts:
    7,735
    News Credits:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    272
    Likes:
    +167
    Ebay:
    Can you actually push the logo all the way up with a tool? If the hook is too short, you can use my photo as reference for how long it should be, since mine is the Takara version.
     

Share This Page