Making my 360 and PC hold hands and share media

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Vangelus, Jan 17, 2008.

  1. Vangelus

    Vangelus Long Live the New Flesh Moderator Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    14,913
    News Credits:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Likes:
    +29
    Ebay:
    So I decided I'm tired of this never working and have spent some time trying to make it work.

    My big success so far is that WMP 11 (and my OS, XP with Service Pack 2) see the Xbox! Media sharing has been enabled.

    Now I'm stuck though. The XBox can't see any PCs, and the connectivity test fails at "Selected PC".

    I've opened the list of ports it says to open in both my router and the Windows Firewall thing...looking around online, I've had trouble finding any answer I could use.

    Anyone else have any experiences getting this to work?
     
  2. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    I have it working, but can't remember how I got it.

    Have you set up your library in MP11?
    Also have you set your network to 'Private'
     
  3. Vangelus

    Vangelus Long Live the New Flesh Moderator Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    14,913
    News Credits:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Likes:
    +29
    Ebay:
    Aye and nay! At least I think my network isn't Private, there's no password involved to use it.
     
  4. Boardwise

    Boardwise is scary - Sig Killer - M Super Mod

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Posts:
    24,333
    News Credits:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    311
    Likes:
    +6
    Ebay:
    That might just be a Vista thing.
    Try checking the Network Control Panel and see.
     
  5. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    All I know is it was a hellovalot easier to do it on 360 than on the PS3. I still just move over media with a memory stick.
     
  6. atlianz

    atlianz TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    4,666
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +0
    I use tversity for for sharing media to my ps3. Easy process.
     
  7. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,618
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    281
    Likes:
    +34
    I'll check that out. Thanks a lot for that, I've been looking for a tutorial or something on that subject
     
  8. Vangelus

    Vangelus Long Live the New Flesh Moderator Content Contributor

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Posts:
    14,913
    News Credits:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    267
    Likes:
    +29
    Ebay:
    I'm on the XP!

    And yeah, checked all the Network things under Control Panel and didn't see anything saying "Private", so I think that's all kosher...
     
  9. KillBot

    KillBot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2005
    Posts:
    251
    Trophy Points:
    111
    Likes:
    +0
    I used to use ORB back before the xbox update because it allows you to view any file type on your xbox. You would basically set up an orb server on your pc and connect to it with your xbox (similar to tversity). The setup is real easy (see orb.com). The only drawback I noticed is big files take a while to buffer before playing.
    Since the xbox now plays divx files I just use a fat32 formatted external hard drive for all my media instead of orb.
    I can't be of any help connecting directly to the computer. Mine always worked with no problem (plus I did it a long time ago). The only thing I would try is temporarily disabling the firewall to see if that is the problem. You can also check your network settings. If you are not familiar with the network settings you can try running the network wizard again.
     
  10. destron760

    destron760 Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Likes:
    +0
    download and install the Zune software.
     
  11. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,704
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +3
    I hope I'm not being insulting, but I have been in tech support for years and I always start with step 1.

    Are you certain you have gone through all the below steps?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I hope this helps.
     
  12. Sixshot

    Sixshot Jeff Goldbluman Group

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    3,166
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    206
    Likes:
    +1
    I did it through the Zune software with no problems, also in XP SP2.
     
  13. MasterOfPuppets

    MasterOfPuppets Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Posts:
    2,149
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    I've been wondering how to figure this out as well. Yes Smasher I did those steps. Only problem is that my Xbox won't show up in the list to share files to. I'm running my Xbox off of the same wireless network as our internet and computers.
     
  14. Atomsplitter

    Atomsplitter Needs a new title.

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Posts:
    3,915
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Likes:
    +0
    Same.
     
  15. tikgnat

    tikgnat Baweepgranaweepninnybong. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Posts:
    23,657
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    422
    Location:
    Beneath the Loft, London, UK
    Likes:
    +1,551
    Ebay:
    Twitter:
    I did it with Zune, then realised I couldn't be bothered after my PC OS rebuild so I've left it out. I use memory cards now.
     
  16. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    Whut? This is incredible because I've never got my 360 working with my PC, but with the PS3 it JUST WORKED when I asked it to XD
     
  17. llamatron

    llamatron Shut up, Nigel. TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2002
    Posts:
    8,969
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    I have the exact same problem as Vang.

    I gave up eventually and haven't tried again yet. I might give the Zune software a shot though.
     
  18. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,704
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    236
    Likes:
    +3
    I wish I could be more help.
    Once I set up the sharing on the PC, I had no trouble seeing the media.

    Maybe the Zune setup is better?
     
  19. Brandon

    Brandon This is important work.

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,175
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Likes:
    +0
    Hmm. I think I'm having the same issues as you Vang. I have XP as well and followed the steps for Windows Media Player 11, but my Xbox doesn't show my computer.
     
  20. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    This is funny because I never even did anything to my pc/ps3, one day I just noticed it worked.
     

Share This Page