Making custom melee weapons

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by SCORPONOK80, May 24, 2011.

1. SCORPONOK80

SCORPONOK80 Well-Known Member

hi, I am new to the world of Customising Transformers. Personally I am very reluctant to alter my G1 Transformers toys in anyway, however I do want to make some melee weapons for:

• Bludgeon samurai sword
    • Octopunch's Trident
    • Strangleholds mace

I have got a Mace from a animated swoop for Stranglehold, what type of paints should i use? Warhammer or model paints?

Not sure how to do Octopunch's trident as I did see some bionicle Tridents but it was expensive.

I would like if possible to make them out of some sort of modelling clay e.g. sculpty or whatever its called. I tried to find some online and didn't get any good results at all.

Attached Files:

2. rattraprules98

rattraprules98 AKA Chr0nus

News Credits:
    HFTD Terrordive's trident might work...

3. Saberfrost01

Saberfrost01 元ロボ ダイユーシャ

I'm Calling SQ7 in THIS should be in CREATIVE GENERAL DISSCUSION.

4. Slothboy

Slothboy Nick

Before this gets moved I'll just add that if you're going to make melee weapons your best bet is getting styrene sheets and rods seeing as in the right thickness (5mm to fit peg holes etc?) they'll be far more durable than using sculpting materials. The rods can be used for handles and the sheets can be carved in to blades to be slotted in to/ mounted on the handles.

Sculpey would be the one you're referring to, which needs to be baked in order to set and even then it's basically a ceramic so it's not going to withstand being stuck in to a figure's fist much!)

As for paints, Games Workshop's Citadel paints should be fine. For beginners acrylics are a cheaper and easier way to paint figures since there's less preparation and they can be thinned with small amounts of water.

5. Saberfrost01

Saberfrost01 元ロボ ダイユーシャ