Customs: Make a Microsander out of a Sonic Scrubber

Discussion in 'Creative General Discussion' started by Bitterjackal, Nov 15, 2008.

1. Bitterjackal

Bitterjackal New Member

(please relocate if in the wrong thread)

Okay, so I'm refurbishing this G1 Jetfire and it is HELL on me. Why? Carpal Tunnel Syndrome. My life hasn't been totally ruined by it... but it's made some things difficult, and others impossible, que cera'. I've been working on and off on sanding up this Jetfire for about 2 years now (yes...years...although some of that is due to lazy, not CT). Smoothing out dents, scratches, and making parts flush before I repaint, but i sorta gave up because the sanding motion was just hell on my hands. I could do it about once a week for 30 minutes and I was done. TOTALLY disatisfying. It's hard to do something you like when you know it's going to hurt, and to be honest, keeping my hands in shape for work was more important. I've got a Dremel, and I tried using that, but even at it's slowest speed it was too brutal and uneven on plastic. One day, while loafing about I saw a commercial for this cheezy-assed thing:

http://www.sonicscrubbertvoffer.com/