Low bidders

Discussion in 'Transformers On Ebay' started by DeathStorm, Aug 17, 2007.

1. DeathStorm

DeathStorm Snoochie Boochies

News Credits:
    In browsing ebay I have always seen things that never really hit me as a "WTF?" kinda thing until now. I see all these great looking toys with several bids but the current price is still low.

Examples I ran across today:

G1 MIB Soundwave, very nice, very solid, great looking piece - it has 2 bids but the current price was only $8.50

G1 Trailbreaker MIB, looks like new - 3 bids with a price of $25.00

My question is, who are these first bidders? Do they actually think they will get a MIB G1 toy for $8 or $24. Does anyone know any buyer who has actually lucked out that much?

2. Codimus Prime

Codimus Prime Missouri Toy Hunter

give them time... they will shoot up there. I usually bid low and hope everyone else loses interest. Doesn't work all the time, but you get some good stuff.

I got a Powermaster Ops for $0.99 (not complete, but has parts I need).

3. Gears

Gears buh-buh-body ya Veteran

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Alot of people bid low at first, but they also watch the item so they can swoop in with a higher bid at the last second.

4. Rodimus Major

Rodimus Major Custom User Title

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    What I don't understand are the people who start their auctions at $.01 but have a reserve price that's high. Many times I have bid on items that even though my maximum bid mght be $50, it only shows what's needed to beat the bid before mine, so it might show up as just a few dollars, and I end up not winning because the reserve isn't met. If you aren't going to settle for less than a certain amount, have a starting bid at that amount!
    Which is only marginally related to the "why are the bids so low?" topic, but is related nonetheless.

5. DeathStorm

News Credits: