Looking for some advise from Hardcore PC gamers(WoW and hardware related)

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by tb-1599, Apr 26, 2011.

  1. tb-1599

    tb-1599 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    2,971
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +4
    I would normally go to a WoW website but my servers at work block anything associtated with gamming. (Damn DoD networks LOL)
    So quick background. I started playing WoW when it first came out and I stopped before the first expansion came out. Well now I want to start playing again and I want to upgrade my rig on the cheap (I dont have alot of money to do this) Since I stopped playing I upgraded my PC from Xp to Vista (Big mistake I am waiting to get the recovery disks from Dell so I can go back to Xp) But this is what I will be running once I go back to Xp.
    Dell Deminsion 3000
    P4 2.8Ghz
    1Gb memory
    Nvidia Gforce 5200 (I only have AGP slots)
    Now I remember when I played WoW before it wasnt to bad I think I could run most of the settings at a pretty decent rate. My question is I have about 50 bucks or so to spend a new piece of hardware What should I get. (and dont say a new computer that is not an option LOL)
    I could upgrade my memory to 2 Gb (1Gb X2)
    or upgrade my Graphics card I was thinking about this one.
    Newegg.com - EVGA 512-A8-N403-LR GeForce 6200 512MB 64-bit GDDR2 AGP 8X Video Card

    Which one do you think would have the most benefit?
     
  2. Noizemaze

    Noizemaze Ken

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    3,357
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +5
    RAM is most likely the best thing you can do with your budget. You should be running 2GB minimum anyway, really.
     
  3. havanowoncheese

    havanowoncheese Proud No Ma'amer!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    2,934
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Likes:
    +0
    Truth be told you need to do a complete new system that said for just wow you can keep it fairly cheap. I would say a core 2 duo a geforce 8 or 9 series card and 2-4 gigs of ram. Check out newegg because it can be pretty cheap to build a new system for WoW.
     
  4. Noizemaze

    Noizemaze Ken

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    3,357
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +5
    He just said he can't afford a new PC....
     
  5. tb-1599

    tb-1599 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    2,971
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +4
    In about a year I would like to do that. But funds dont allow that right now. It's funny after loading up WoW with burning Crusades sunday night and letting it load all night. I woke up all excited and jumped on and NADA I could log on and see my chacter but when I press the W Key my chacter was like HA your funny you want me to move. I asked a friend and he said you HAVE to get rid of Vista LOL also my PC has to run AGP not PCI :(  so I know that limits my choices. I love newegg I am there right now looking at memory.
     
  6. tb-1599

    tb-1599 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    2,971
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +4
    Its ok, believe me if I could I would drop a dime in a second for a new Alienware rig
     
  7. Noizemaze

    Noizemaze Ken

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    3,357
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +5
    That's actually one thing I wouldn't recommend. I owned an Alienware once and it wasn't worth it...
     
  8. QuinJester

    QuinJester T. Bison

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    8,120
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +6
    Take that 50 dollars and buy something less dangerously addictive, like crack cocaine :( 

    Alternatively, just save up and don't bother buying another card that will be only barely better than the one you have - being limited to an AGP slot there's not a lot of options for you.
     
  9. tb-1599

    tb-1599 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    2,971
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +4
    I know tell me about it. LOL my PC is like 5 years old the wife got it for me as a present. Not that I didnt appritiate it but she isnt a gammer and didnt know anybetter. So I would be just better off getting the extra 1Gb of memory then huh?? My PC can only handle up to 2 Gb of memory so I should just max it out.
     
  10. tb-1599

    tb-1599 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    2,971
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +4
    Well I stand corrected my video card is PCI
     
  11. tb-1599

    tb-1599 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Posts:
    2,971
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Likes:
    +4
    so I finally have my OS back to XP, wow what a difference it made. So now back to my upgrade. I went ahead and ordered 2 Gig of memory and I was able to scrounge enough to order a Graphics card (has to be under 150 bucks though) I was going to order though Dell so I can use my Dell account and this looks like its going to be a good card. (my pc is PCI and DDR so my options are a little limited)
    VisionTekā„¢ RadeonĀ® X1300 256 MB PCI Graphics Card
     

Share This Page