Looking for some advise from Hardcore PC gamers(WoW and hardware related)

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by tb-1599, Apr 26, 2011.

1. tb-1599

tb-1599 Well-Known Member

I would normally go to a WoW website but my servers at work block anything associtated with gamming. (Damn DoD networks LOL)
    So quick background. I started playing WoW when it first came out and I stopped before the first expansion came out. Well now I want to start playing again and I want to upgrade my rig on the cheap (I dont have alot of money to do this) Since I stopped playing I upgraded my PC from Xp to Vista (Big mistake I am waiting to get the recovery disks from Dell so I can go back to Xp) But this is what I will be running once I go back to Xp.
    Dell Deminsion 3000
    P4 2.8Ghz
    1Gb memory
    Nvidia Gforce 5200 (I only have AGP slots)
    Now I remember when I played WoW before it wasnt to bad I think I could run most of the settings at a pretty decent rate. My question is I have about 50 bucks or so to spend a new piece of hardware What should I get. (and dont say a new computer that is not an option LOL)
    I could upgrade my memory to 2 Gb (1Gb X2)
    or upgrade my Graphics card I was thinking about this one.
    Newegg.com - EVGA 512-A8-N403-LR GeForce 6200 512MB 64-bit GDDR2 AGP 8X Video Card

Which one do you think would have the most benefit?

2. Noizemaze

Noizemaze Ken

News Credits:
    RAM is most likely the best thing you can do with your budget. You should be running 2GB minimum anyway, really.

3. havanowoncheese

havanowoncheese Proud No Ma'amer!

Truth be told you need to do a complete new system that said for just wow you can keep it fairly cheap. I would say a core 2 duo a geforce 8 or 9 series card and 2-4 gigs of ram. Check out newegg because it can be pretty cheap to build a new system for WoW.

4. Noizemaze

Noizemaze Ken

News Credits:
    He just said he can't afford a new PC....

5. tb-1599