Lair playable on PSP

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Prowl, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,619
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +34
    Too bad this accident couldn't happen to a better game. But Sony "oopsed" and didn't put a block for people to access Lair via remote play on the PSP. So you can basically play Lair via remote play. I just left the disc in my system and played it from work. You control the dragon via analog nub, but some of the missing buttons on the PSP prevent some actions, though, for the most part, you could play through an entire level. I hope this OOPS happens to GT Prologue and Heavenly Sword.
     
  2. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    Isn't that the point of remote play? Why would they block it in the first place?
     
  3. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,619
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +34
    Because Remote play is more access to the media on your system. I can view my videos, play my music, go on PSN and download shit. But because the PSP controls don't match a PS1-PS3 controls, you are missing a lot of control schemes that may cause the game to not work properly. My opinion is just let us play the games but put a dislaimer that games may not function properly.
     
  4. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,705
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +3
    What does the game look like on the PSP?
    I really didn't know the PS3-PSP had this feature.

    I am intrigued.
     
  5. jdre_124

    jdre_124 Super Dick

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2006
    Posts:
    3,431
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +3
    Not very pretty and its kinda choppy.
     
  6. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,619
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +34
    Actually, I was playing fine through it. Not as smooth as the direct thing, but definitely playable. I'd say the only thing that made it difficult was the fact that some enemies were tiny on the screen, so the shit in the far background were barely visible........

    But screw Lair. My hopes would be more that I could load up an RPG (something less demanding on speed and framerate). I would love to level my characters on FF12 from work. This booboo on Lair proves that it can be done. Like I said, Sony should take a hands-off on it and just disclaimer that the game might not be playable... play at your own risk. I could literally B-Spec some races on GT4 from work and earn some money.

    O-O or if I still played FF11, I could farm and get money off mining and shit. Come on Sony, stop being so damn protective, that shit would be sweet.
     
  7. toma

    toma eskimo in disguise

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,583
    Trophy Points:
    211
    Likes:
    +0
    yeah my brother in law told me he could play ps3 games on the toilet from his psp, he said it was pretty cool. i had no idea about that feature until he told me about it.
     
  8. Frognal

    Frognal Prodigal Son Returned

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Posts:
    4,503
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around this. So each PS3 game comes with a PSP version?
     
  9. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    No, the PSP is acting as a screen and a controller, accessing the PS3 wirelessly. The PS3 does all the work, you're just remotely controlling and viewing it with the PSP.
     
  10. Frognal

    Frognal Prodigal Son Returned

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Posts:
    4,503
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Okay, that makes more sense.
     
  11. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,705
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +3
    You're not the only one.

    I had no idea the PS3\PSP combo could do that.
    And Sony's leaving the feature in Lair is an accident?
    They primarily block the feature?

    Man, Sony is truly its own worst enemy these days.
     
  12. MegaMoonMan

    MegaMoonMan www.megamoonman.com TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Posts:
    17,236
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    322
    Likes:
    +30
    Ebay:
    YouTube:
    No doubt. I thought it was standard in all PS3 games. Guess I was wrong.
     
  13. Prowl

    Prowl Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Posts:
    18,619
    News Credits:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    287
    Likes:
    +34
    I don't think it's that big of a deal. It's not like their error caused any issues. If anything it made me realize how cool the feature would be. But honestly, the PSP doesn't have enoughbuttons to compensate, which is why they prohibit it. Even with PS1 games released on PSN, they remark that they are configured for the PSP now, but with 2 shoulder buttons, you lose a lot of what most PS2 and PS3 games have to offer. So they might be worried that someone might lose a save on a game or something worst and then bitch at them for it.

    Personally, I'd prefer them put a disclaimer up (at the fron end of Remote Play)because I want to farm money on GT4 from work (something that does not require the shoulder buttons).
     

Share This Page