Kooking up a camcorder to the PC

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Ruination04, Dec 13, 2006.

  1. Ruination04

    Ruination04 8 Years Old Since 1984!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Posts:
    6,111
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    226
    Likes:
    +5
    Ebay:
    I have been wanting to hook my camcorder up to my PC so I can put all of my videos on my computer. Is there any way I can do it? What software, type of cable, etc would I need?

    I have a Quasar VHSC type of camera that's about 3-4 years old.

    Edit: I wanna Hook it up, not Kook it up! LOL
     
  2. honestgabe

    honestgabe I

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    2,925
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    koookooo
     
  3. Dark_Convoy

    Dark_Convoy Old Bastard Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    17,201
    Trophy Points:
    271
    Likes:
    +0
    koo koo ga joob!
     
  4. flamepanther

    flamepanther Interested, but not really

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Posts:
    10,507
    Trophy Points:
    292
    Likes:
    +125
    You'll need a video capture card, for starters. Some video cards have one built in. If you've got one, it probably should have come with the cables (or adapters, at least) and software you need.
     
  5. seven

    seven RIP Poopers 4-1993/5-2008

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    2,731
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    I have an ATi TV Wonder Pro that captures pretty well. It doesn't come with any sort of editing software though. It accepts Composite and S-Video in. I got it for $100 a while back so it should be cheaper, but its a real pain to get setup right soundwise and I'm growing impatient with ATi's software as it is.

    Before that I had a Dazzle. Its a usb device that has composite and S-Video in as well but this came with some really easy to use but basic software (MGI Videowave which Roxio now makes).
     

Share This Page