Jam Sessions for DS

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by pscoop, Sep 14, 2007.

1. pscoop

pscoop Dead inside

News Credits:
    http://ds.ign.com/objects/892/892095.html

Has anyone else heard of this? I admit as a guitarist I have been interested to see how it works since I first heard about it. You can program the buttons to represent up to 16 chords at one time and strum using the touch screen, from the video I saw it sounded closer to an acoustic guitar than I would have expected.

Could be something fun to tinker around with.

2. Vangelus

Vangelus Long Live the New Flesh Moderator Content Contributor

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Bought it yesterday!

Basically, it's a chords-only guitar sim. It has some stuff built in to help you use it/learn some theory, but at its heart it's not really a game. You do get access to over 100 chords, which means a lot of freedom in that regard. Bit of a shame there's no single-string, but eh. This is still rather impressive.

I'm getting quite a kick out of it. :D  If you wait 'til November there'll be a bundle released with a 4-inch mini amp. I'm thinking of getting ahold of a mini amp mostly because one of the cart's drawbacks is its painfully low volume out of the DS speakers.

*edit*

Also, you get a decent set of variable Effects, so you can add stuff like Distortion or Trembolo in the sim itself.

3. pscoop

pscoop Dead inside

News Credits:
    I saw that bundle with the mini amp, cute. 100 chords is pretty impressive, I was hoping for single string action, but still sounds cool to play around with. It sounds like you could use it for getting a basic idea for song put together when you don't have a guitar with you which seems cool.

4. Vangelus

Vangelus Long Live the New Flesh Moderator Content Contributor

News Credits:
    Ebay: