Jailbreak an iPod Touch?

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Omega Supreme V, Sep 3, 2009.

  1. Omega Supreme V

    Omega Supreme V I protect those I care 4

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Posts:
    1,897
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +1
    Anyone know how to? & what program to use after it? my old man wants me to jailbreak it and install a pseudo-phone program so he can use it like a cell phone. The only problem is, I have no idea how to do any of this...

    so can anyone help or send me to the right direction?
     
  2. McBradders

    McBradders James Franco Club! Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Posts:
    34,131
    Trophy Points:
    286
    Likes:
    +0
    How can you use it as a pseudo cellphone outside of, say, something like Skype?

    Also the first hit on Google has a walkthrough which confirmed my suspicions. Thread over.
     
    Last edited: Sep 3, 2009
  3. Omega Supreme V

    Omega Supreme V I protect those I care 4

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Posts:
    1,897
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +1
    I tried it but the program it used it with {red snow & Cydia?} didn't exactly work..
    and yeah, it'd be Skype, not exactly sure what skype is though. Just looking for some help man...
    actually it's "SIP-VoIP" idk wtf that is..
     
  4. Haloid1177

    Haloid1177 Hey, That's Pretty Good TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Posts:
    29,050
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    317
    Location:
    Somewhere Between Life and Death
    Likes:
    +56
    I always use Quickpawn to jailbreak my Apple stuff. Done to all of my friends Touches, including original and 2G.
     
  5. yodafett

    yodafett Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    1,442
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +0
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Make sure he understands that the Touch can only work "like a phone" when it has an active wireless connection. And if I remember, for 1st gen Touches, you have to use a headset, as they have no external microphone/speaker like the iPhone.
     
  6. Chrono Grimlock

    Chrono Grimlock Perfect By Nature

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2003
    Posts:
    5,905
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    232
    Likes:
    +4
    Pretty much this. Never saw the point in jailbreaking the 1st Gen Touch
     
  7. Omega Supreme V

    Omega Supreme V I protect those I care 4

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2002
    Posts:
    1,897
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +1
    Actually bought some Apple earphones with a mix & remote to use, and he has a 2nd gen iTouch.

    I didn't know that it had to have an active wireless connection...I know there's one in the hospital where he works, but not sure if it's the one where you have to login everytime {which it probably is...} so this has just been a big waste of time ;-/

    thanks guys.
     

Share This Page