Is your PS3 your default DVD player?

Discussion in 'Video Games and Technology' started by Sideswipe80, Mar 20, 2010.

  1. Sideswipe80

    Sideswipe80 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Posts:
    10,367
    News Credits:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +27
    Mine officially is as of today. My current DVD player which I've had for about 3 years keeps skipping on my G1 Rhino DVDs and other various new DVDS I have. Yet the PS3 plays them perfectly.
     
  2. MegaPrime33

    MegaPrime33 Follow me @NerdActivist TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2003
    Posts:
    9,772
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +2
    Yup. I had a 5 disk changer but wanted bluray so bought a ps3. Works great.
     
  3. seven

    seven RIP Poopers 4-1993/5-2008

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    2,731
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Nope, only for blurays. The 360 is my default (in two rooms), mainly because the PS3 remote is a pain in the ass.
     
  4. Sideswipe80

    Sideswipe80 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Posts:
    10,367
    News Credits:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +27
    I use my PS3 controller instead of a remote lol.
     
  5. Counterpunch?

    Counterpunch? Interior Renovator

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Posts:
    4,334
    Trophy Points:
    177
    Likes:
    +37
    Ebay:
    yes.
     
  6. Omnius

    Omnius Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Posts:
    11,890
    News Credits:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +8
    Yes, since discovering that my DVD player (with HDMI output, so it was designed with HD in mind) insists on playing all DVDs in a small window in the middle of our new TV.
     
  7. OmegaScourge

    OmegaScourge Custom Made TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Posts:
    6,508
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +11
    nope...got a DVD Player for that. Im using the PS3 as a BR player til i get a BR Player then the PS3 will be just my gaming machine
     
  8. Red Alert

    Red Alert Security

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2008
    Posts:
    8,558
    News Credits:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +26
    Yep


    Now if it only had Games:( 
     
  9. chrisr291

    chrisr291 Master of the Unknown

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Posts:
    12,360
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    227
    Likes:
    +34
    Ebay:
    Yep, I donated my DVD players to good will
     
  10. Mechafire

    Mechafire Veteran TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Posts:
    24,150
    News Credits:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    291
    Likes:
    +33
    Eh, I use the 360 or PS3 depending on what mood I'm in. Kinda hard to explain.
     
  11. Haloid1177

    Haloid1177 Hey, That's Pretty Good TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Posts:
    29,054
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    317
    Location:
    Somewhere Between Life and Death
    Likes:
    +56
    It is for me, since it is the only DVD player in my room, regardless of Blu-Ray.
     
  12. Scythe

    Scythe Future Foundation

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Posts:
    4,266
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Likes:
    +1
    Why yes, yes it is.
     
  13. Primus

    Primus Beware, the modelers. Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Posts:
    4,145
    News Credits:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    196
    Likes:
    +12
    been my primary since November '06. Haven't had one problem. Blu-ray remote works perfectly. Any only replaced the batteries once, if you can believe that.
     
  14. bouncing boy77

    bouncing boy77 Syntax Error

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Posts:
    3,302
    Trophy Points:
    172
    Likes:
    +2
    nope. i'm just using it for blu-rays. still have a separate dvd player.
     
  15. Valkysas

    Valkysas Attack Buffalo

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2003
    Posts:
    20,799
    News Credits:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    312
    Likes:
    +21
    Yes, except for Gurren Lagann vol. 2, which it refuses to play. it just makes a loud, angry, grinding sound instead.
     
  16. Smasher

    Smasher HUNKY BEATS

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    12,706
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    256
    Likes:
    +5
    It upscales DVDs, does it not?
    It should be the default in that case.
     
  17. ---The RAt

    ---The RAt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    136
    Trophy Points:
    91
    Likes:
    +0
    Umm for the most yes, mainly I use my Mac since it's
    hooked in to my HD tv anyway. I honestly don't watch that many DVDs on anything. Typically I'll rip the to media harddrive and then share said harddrive with
    the network. So it can be watched on the ps3 xbox or whatever
     
  18. seven

    seven RIP Poopers 4-1993/5-2008

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    2,731
    Trophy Points:
    186
    Likes:
    +0
    Yes, but so does the 360 and most current DVD players with HDMI output.
     
  19. Ace Convoy

    Ace Convoy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    6,817
    News Credits:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    176
    Likes:
    +9
    Ebay:
    It was until my mom moved the PS3 to the non HD TV...I'm still mad
     
  20. Squee

    Squee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Posts:
    3,669
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Likes:
    +0
    More often than not, i leave the game in the system when i turn off my ps3. It's less of a hassle to just use my dvd player if i'm going to watch a dvd.
     

Share This Page