Is there a way to get rid of lag?

Discussion in 'Transformers Video Game Discussion' started by MacrossFA19, Sep 16, 2012.

  1. MacrossFA19

    MacrossFA19 That son of a bitch!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    1,561
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Like the title says.

    I been playing like mad for the double xp weekend. More than usual, this weekend I am in matches with lag so bad I wanna pull my hair out. I don't believe it's my connection-though it's possible. Also, about a minute into the match-"Host Migration", and my (and a few other players) scores are erased.
    Is there a way to fix this ?
     
  2. Chalice

    Chalice ليس هناك ما هو صحيح، فكل

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Posts:
    508
    News Credits:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Likes:
    +1
    Nope. It's a terrible connection somewhere, either with you or someone else in the match. There are some technical tricks you can try w/ NAT type and a few other things, but in my experience the difference is little to nil.

    I mean, I'm assuming your PS3/360 is using a wired connection instead of wireless? Cause that can be a huge difference maker. That said, you're still going to run into lag now and then.
     
  3. MV95

    MV95 @marlinfan1995 News Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Posts:
    6,137
    News Credits:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Location:
    United States
    Likes:
    +1,905
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Instagram:
    YouTube:
    Simple answer: Get a high powered router. That solved my problems.

    Although you could just be running into hosts that have bad connection which would give you lag.
     
  4. MacrossFA19

    MacrossFA19 That son of a bitch!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    1,561
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    I am using a wireless connection. The router is from Verizon for the fios.
     
  5. Zeta Otaku

    Zeta Otaku Who ya gonna call? TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Posts:
    2,240
    Trophy Points:
    242
    Likes:
    +35
    Ebay:
    ah, there's the problem!

    I too have FiOS as does my friend. While the built in wireless on those units are fine for computer use, for some reason they can't handle the 360 via wireless. My recommendation to you is to either run an ethernet cord from the modem to the console or pick up a dedicated wireless router that's wired into the modem.
     
  6. MacrossFA19

    MacrossFA19 That son of a bitch!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2006
    Posts:
    1,561
    Trophy Points:
    181
    Likes:
    +0
    Ebay:
    Thank you. Will give that a try.
     
  7. BooyakaDragon

    BooyakaDragon I Don't Even Know

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    3,897
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +206
    I use Wireless and I get amazing internet.
     
  8. unicronic

    unicronic TFW2005 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    6,259
    News Credits:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    317
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Likes:
    +370
    Twitter:
    Tips for improved connections include the following (may not work for everyone):

    - Use wired not wireless
    - If possible directly connect the modem to PS3 bypassing the router
    - If this is not possible, make sure no other devices are using the same router while playing online e.g. turn of phone, laptop and other devices using wifi or same wired connection
    - Reset the Modem and/or Router before playing
    - Set up a Static IP address is using a router is the only option
    - Play with players from your region
     
  9. Prime Jetscream

    Prime Jetscream The Ultimate Golden Gamer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Posts:
    10,457
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    217
    Location:
    California, USA
    Likes:
    +20
    I asked an employee at Best Buy, and he said gamers just give up on wireless because it's crap for gaming. And I see that often since I use it. :I
     
  10. Transformed

    Transformed 神戸 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Posts:
    12,465
    News Credits:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    262
    Likes:
    +17
    Ebay:
    I don't think you can get rid of it, as it isn't always you;) 

    I think you can help the process buy making sure your system is the best that it can be, but someone somewhere is bound to slow the whole process down.

    If only HMS allowed users to specify the Net connections they'd like to play with. Yeah, I know some folks are going to get left out, but them's the brakes. Some people just shouldn't be playing games online if they don't have the adequate means to do so:/

    I don't know about that. I play Tekken wirelessly and my attacks haven't suffered yet. Timing is everything in that game. You need to react quickly to the things you see or your game is over.
     
  11. BooyakaDragon

    BooyakaDragon I Don't Even Know

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    3,897
    News Credits:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    202
    Likes:
    +206
    Get a Cosco Wireless Router, 4 bar or higher connection and very reliable.
     

Share This Page