Is MP Thundercracker worth it?

Discussion in 'Transformers Toy Discussion' started by Transformified, Sep 18, 2012.

1. Transformified

Transformified Member

So I kinda collected Transformers as a kid and just got back into about three weeks ago--just in time for the Thundercracker's release. As you can see, I'm a newb. I'm operating on a tight budget these days and wanted to know everyone's input as to whether this toy is worth spending $80 at TRU. It's beautiful and cool to look at, but I want something that's a true collectible if I'm going to spend that much. In other words, will this bad boy sell for more years down the road? MP Starscream looks like it's selling at or less than retail despite coming out almost two years ago. So I'm wary of spending so much on TC... Your input would be greatly appreciated!

2. hoosierdaddy04

hoosierdaddy04 The Lord of Diecast

For $80 this is as true of a collectible as you will find. So yes, he is "worth it". I'm not a fortune teller or Nostradamus so I can only say that more than likely this will be worth more a few years down the road.

Edit: The reason that MP-03 SS price has dropped some is the fact that this year MP-11 SS was released a few months ago and MP-11 kicks MP-03's butt in my humble opinion.

3. LegendAntihero

LegendAntihero Banned

It's worth buying even at $80. That's cost and given it's rarity, it will only appreciate.

4. ex dtw2003

ex dtw2003 Well-Known Member

News Credits:
    Let me share my experience.

I got back into collecting around the time MP Skywarp was showing up in Walmart. At the time, I thought the price was REALLY high for a transformer and that this was a casual thing.

Fast forward two years and I paid aftermarket prices for Skywarp (which was luckily not too much higher than what I found him for on clearance - though it was an open box) and am now ridiculously happy to find Thundercracker for retail. And he's awesome IMHO.

My experience, obviously YMMV.

5. Astronut