Image viewer is broken for me.

Discussion in 'TFW2005 Tech Support' started by Hot Shot., May 20, 2012.

  1. Hot Shot.

    Hot Shot. Giving up on the fiction.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    8,840
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +383
    I've had this problem for maybe a month now, or since whenever that last big update was.

    Anyway, whenever I click on an attachment to view it, it appears in the top-left corner of the entire page. I have to scroll up to it, and when I click the x to close it out, it does the visual "push" but nothing happens. I can't click anything behind the picture, and any other attachment I click just stacks over the old one with the same problem. I have to refresh the page to clear it. On the other hand, the picture viewer for news articles works fine.

    I managed to get it to work once in Radicons, and it also works in Firefox.

    I guess the question I should ask is, is this just a problem with the site's compatibility with IE, or is it Internet Explorer itself?

    Here's a screencap:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Hot Shot.

    Hot Shot. Giving up on the fiction.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    8,840
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +383
    Bump.
     
  3. Tony_Bacala

    Tony_Bacala Car Robots Professional Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    11,980
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    2,372
    Location:
    Illadelph
    Likes:
    +761
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    What version of ie is that. And what os? Thanks.
     
  4. Hot Shot.

    Hot Shot. Giving up on the fiction.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    8,840
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +383
    Internet Explorer 9 on Vista.
     
  5. Tony_Bacala

    Tony_Bacala Car Robots Professional Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    11,980
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    2,372
    Location:
    Illadelph
    Likes:
    +761
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    Does every board attachment on the forums open like that, or just certain ones?
     
  6. Hot Shot.

    Hot Shot. Giving up on the fiction.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    8,840
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +383
    So far it's been like that for every thumbnail except for those on this page. It worked a few days ago there and still does.

    EDIT: Err...it did. Now those thumbnails glitch up too.
     
  7. Hot Shot.

    Hot Shot. Giving up on the fiction.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    8,840
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +383
    I'm still having this issue, btw.
     
  8. Tony_Bacala

    Tony_Bacala Car Robots Professional Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    11,980
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    2,372
    Location:
    Illadelph
    Likes:
    +761
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    Having a hard time replicating it. IE 7-9 on Win7 is functioning fine, so it's either a IE9/Vista combo situation, or some specific configuration you have set which I am unaware of.

    I will continue to investigate. Try enabling compatibility mode for this website in the IE9 settings in the mean time.

    And, if possible, please try similar pages on HissTank.com and/or Toyark.com and see if the issue happens there.
     
  9. Hot Shot.

    Hot Shot. Giving up on the fiction.

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    8,840
    News Credits:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    247
    Likes:
    +383
    It does the exact same thing on Hisstank, but Toyark works fine. Compatability mode didn't clear it up either.
     
  10. Tony_Bacala

    Tony_Bacala Car Robots Professional Administrator

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    11,980
    News Credits:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    2,372
    Location:
    Illadelph
    Likes:
    +761
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    Google+:
    Instagram:
    Flickr:
    YouTube:
    OK, that helps, will look into it more using that soon, hold tight.
     
  11. optimusfan

    optimusfan Kill your heroes Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Posts:
    12,648
    News Credits:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    412
    Likes:
    +459
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter:
    One of my machines is running Vista + IE9. The lightbox functionality works for me.

    A couple of other random thoughts. First, I see you're running a VNC server of some sort. Can you shut that down and confirm that you're still having the issue?

    Second thought: Using the scroll wheel on your mouse should also dismiss the lightbox when it's on screen. Does it when you're having this issue?

    Lastly, can you run IE9 in safe mode (No add-ons) and see if that fixes the issue?
     

Share This Page