I'm so behind the times... help me!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by agravlin, Mar 11, 2007.

1. agravlin

agravlin Bearer of Reason

I'm a poor college student, so because I haven't been able to afford it, I've been kind of out of the computer upgrade loop for a couple of years.

Last time I bought new computer parts was when I bought my current desktop's Asus Motherboard (P4S800X), 2.8GHz P4, PC3200 RAM, Radeon 9600XT, and a 120 GB hard drive - when this stuff was nearly top-of-the-line back in maybe 2003/2004.

Unfortunately because I'm so damn poor, I'm completely unaware of what the current top-of-the-line (or just above average) hardware specs are.

Could someone tell me what is the best available hardware for each of these components, and then a semi-best one (as the 2.8 P4 was when 3.4 was the best), preferably with Intel, ATI, and ASUS components?

Also, I don't know a thing about the multi-core stuff. I keep seeing "Dual-Core T5200 and T5500" and stuff like that. Does this mean they're 5.2GHz and 5.5GHz respectively? Also, I've seen "Dual-Core 1.8GHz" - does this mean that it's actually 1.8GHz of power, or is it two 1.8's, so equivalent in power to a 3.6GHz? This crap is confusing...

What is "DDR2" when it comes to memory? There was only regular DDR last time I was shopping for upgrades.

Do current motherboards allow more than two slots of physical memory? My Asus from a few years ago only takes two, and I'm hoping to buy 1GBx2, but in case that's no longer sufficient, I might have to go with 1GBx4.

How large are game installations these days? Last time I was really able to afford any new games, they were usually around or under 1GB. Is this still the case, or do I need a massive hard drive now, like 500GB for larger installations?

Thanks in advance!

2. Spekkio

Spekkio Master of War

News Credits:
    Ebay:
    Facebook:
    Twitter: