"I'm not tech savvy"

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DaggersRage, Jun 21, 2007.

1. DaggersRage

DaggersRage Autistic bastard.

Well, I work at a call center where we deal with a certain subscription service. A lot of times I get customers calling us in, saying they entered their credit card now the service is charging them money for it (weird concept huh?). I explain that they've had a week long trial to cancel it before they're getting charged, they're calling two months after their 7 day trial ended, and the excuse I'm constantly given is "Well, I'm not tech savvy".

Is that really a legit excuse?

2. Th0r4z1n3

Th0r4z1n3 The F*cking Lizard King! Veteran

News Credits:
    I don't think picking up a telephone and saying "I would like to cancle my service" really has anything to do with being tech-savvy, but that's just my humble opinion.

3. DaggersRage

Er, you're correct on that one. I forgot to mention they want refunds and they accuse that the company has used their card without their permission.

4. pscoop

pscoop Dead inside

News Credits:
    Just tell them "Reading the terms of use FTMFW!!"

5. Bryan

Bryan ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

I don't know what service you specifically work for, but I've had experiences with things like 'credit protection' or 'special coupon subscription' services that are opt-out only, and tacked on to other purchases somewhat stealthily. It's not illegal or anything, but if that's what your company does (and it sounds like it), then your higher-ups shouldn't be surpised when there's a measure of backlash to their shady marketing techniques.

The "not tech-savvy" part probably comes from not being terribly familiar with the nature of e-commerce and the necessity to actually check, if not completely read, every line of text in an e-purchase.