I'm... I'm Unemployed?!?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Pravus Prime, Dec 23, 2009.

1. Pravus Prime

Pravus Prime Sorcerer

News Credits:
    As a bit of background, I'm a teacher for a local community college. I've been teaching since 2001, around 47 weeks a year (48 this year). Not only do I love my job, I'm one of the highest rated instructors in my department in the course feedback forms, I'm also popular with student teachers who need contact teacher hours for certification (I had two last semester). I'm also in charge of my discipline; the other teachers are under me.

I just got the call that due to an incident involving another teacher (not one of mine), the facility I teach out of has terminated their contract with the college as of today. The college is currently renovating their Sports and Expo Center where I'm supposed to eventually be transfered to, but it won't be done until late February. This means that for the Winter Semester (starting Jan 8 for me), all fitness classes have been cancelled due to a lack of facilities. I've got to come in next week and make sure my course equipment gets noted for transfer out of the facility.

This. This sucks. Supposedly this summer classes will resume on campus, but who knows. Merry Christmas to me. Guess I'll need to find something in January to fill in for the lost income.

Sorry for the emo-ness of the post, I just, I don't know, had to vent. I have a feeling that I'm going to be depressed for a few days. I already don't feel like doing what I was planning on doing today.

2. Cavshock

Cavshock Well-Known Member

Get with the local school district and see about doing sub teaching until that other thing opens up. :) 

Chuck

3. Bryan

Bryan ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ

im kick sub aid

4. Elita_One

Elita_One Метал для життя